Jamaica, VA – Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA, led flag-to-flag in a flawless run to score his first win in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model 30 lap feature. With the field battling for position behind him, Lipscombe went unchallenged and went on to score his career-first Pro Late Model victory.

“We have worked extremely hard on this Frankenstein of a car; we found something last year with this car and knew if we kept at it, we would end up here in victory lane,” commented Lipscombe in Virginia Is For Racing Lovers victory lane.

Jeremy Pilkerton and Davis Lipscombe led the field to green in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model 30 lap feature. Lipscombe would grab the lead right before the races first WhosYourDriver.org caution came out. By lap 5, Lipscombe had built a 5-car length advantage over Pilkerton when the caution came out for a Garrett Donnell and Colby Bradshaw wreck.

Once back under green, the battle on the track was for fifth as Billy Hubbard and Joey Love raced side-by-side for multiple laps. Lipscombe began pulling away from Pilkerton while Cory Almond and Nick Davis battled for third with the laps winding down. Pilkerton would never get close enough to make a run at the lead as Lipscombe kept a 10-car length advantage on the way to his first win of the season. Jeremy Pilkerton, Corey Almond, Nick Davis, and Joey Love rounded out the top five.

In the Budweiser Modified 25-lap feature, Scott Heath of Moneta, VA, grabbed the lead from the outside of the front row on the drop of the green flag. Behind him, the battle for second was hot and heavy between Bret Hamilton, Cole Hilton, and Chase Butler. Hilton would spin on lap 15, racing with Butler for third. Butler would come to pit road for some damage to his body, relegating both to the rear of the field. Heath would never be challenged and went on to score his first victory, followed by Bret Hamilton, Joey Polevoy, Michael Pappas, and Jeff Solinger rounding out the top five.

Brett Adkins of Saluda, VA, grabbed the lead on lap thirteen from Hunter Wright of Aylett, VA, in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature. Adam Breen and Hunter Wright led the field to green, with Wright grabbing the lead out of turn 2. Wright would hold the top spot till lap 13 when Adkins swoet to his outside to take the lead. Once out front, Adkins would pull away and take his second win in a row. Wright, Matt Meads, Tyler Shipp, and Cole Johnston rounded out the top five.

In the Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature, Justin Pullen and Gregory Morgan led the field to green, with Morgan taking the lead. Week one winner Brian Hubbard took the lead on lap two as the battle for second went four-wide. With laps winding down, Hubbard, Bradley, Cleman, and Christopher Sherr all stayed within striking distance of each other. But it was Hubbard who would go on to take the win, his second win in a row. Cory Bradley, Trent Clemans, Christian Sherr, and Christopher Bryan rounded out the top five.

The speedway will return to racing on Saturday, May 4, to host the FASTRAK Touring Series sanctioned $5000 to win Commonwealth Clash. Some of the Mid-Atlantic’s top Pro Late Model drivers will be on hand. Also, see the Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified, and Joe Hudson’s Limited Stock Car divisions on Dirt Series Championship weekly racing action. Spectator gates will open at 5 PM, with racing beginning at 7 PM.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA, and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA, in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland, and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2024 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway , and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


A Feature (30 Laps) – 1. 71-Davis Lipscombe[2]; 2. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[1]; 3. 29H-Corey Almond[4]; 4. 92-Nick Davis[7]; 5. 08-Joey Love[3]; 6. 38-Billy Hubbard[6]; 7. 10-Matt Ashworth[8]; 8. 4-Doug Penny[14]; 9. 7-Curtis Hughes[11]; 10. 45-William Baker[10]; 11. 51S-Garrett Donnell[12]; 12. 37-Bud Stinson[5]; 13. 17-Colby Bradshaw[13]; 14. 82-Roger Robertson Jr[9]

Fast Qualifier: Corey Almond – 18.570 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps): 1. 16-Brett Adkins[6]; 2. 00-Hunter Wright[2]; 3. 23-Matt Meads[3]; 4. 25-Tyler Shipp[4]; 5. 39-Cole Johnston[9]; 6. 7-Lucas Sandy[8]; 7. 01-Adam Breeden[1]; 8. 1-Blake Adkins[7]; 9. 9-Steve Causey[5]; 10. 33-Matt Brown[11]; 11. OU1-Dale Rhodes[10]

Fast Qualifier: Bret Adkins – 20.888 seconds

Budweiser Modified (25 laps): 1. 35-Scott Heath[2]; 2. 1ST-Bret Hamilton[1]; 3. 51-Joey Polevoy[5]; 4. 2-Michael Pappas[3]; 5. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[8]; 6. 11-Chase Butler[6]; 7. 10S-Tim Schulte[9]; 8. 99-Cole Hilton[4]; 9. 21C-Micheal Conley[12]; 10. 21J-Curtis Mason[11]; 11. 814-Samuel Lamborgini[10]; 12. (DNF) 7-Johnny Brooks[7]; 13. (DNF) 9C-Colin Cartwright[13]

Fast Qualifier: Chase Butler – 18.731 seconds (NEW TRACK RECORD)

Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car (2 laps): 1. 23B-Brian Hubbard[3]; 2. 41-Cory Bradley[5]; 3. 01-Trent Clemans[6]; 4. 07-Christian Sherr[8]; 5. 95-Christopher Bryan[10]; 6. 21-Jacob Buie[9]; 7. 59-Jason Speelman[12]; 8. 53-Gregory Morgan[2]; 9. 99-Hilton Pickeral[7]; 10. 14-Brandon Bowler[4]; 11. 25-John Hankins Jr[11]; 12. 9-Justin Pullen[1]; 13. 89-Craig Newcombe[13]; 14. 10-Ray Ashworth[14]

Fast Qualifier: Trent Clemans – 21.955 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>