Jamaica, VA – Corey Almond of Appomattox, VA, put on a dominating performance on the way to picking up the win in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model 30 lap feature on Pepsi Opening Night. Almond led flag-to-flag but had to hold off Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA, in a three-lap shootout after a caution on lap 27.

“When I saw that Lipscombe was behind me on that final restart, I knew that it was going to be OK; he has always raced me with respect. The goal this year is to get as many wins and top fives as possible so we have a shot at the championship at the end of the season,” commented Almond in Virginia Is for Racing Lovers victory lane.

Corey Almond and Braeden Dillinger led the field to green, with Almond taking the lead on the drop of the green. Almond pulled away as they battled for second behind him. Billy Hubbard took over second on lap 13 and set out to catch Almond. A caution on lap 21 closed the field up on Almond’s bumper. But once they were back under green, Almond pulled away again. The race’s final caution on lap 27 set up a three-lap shootout for the win between Almond and Lipscombe. Almond would get a good jump on the drop of the green flag, but Lipscombe kept within a couple of car lengths. Almond would hit his marks and go on to pick up the win over Lipscombe, Billy Hubbard, Joey Love, and Nick Davis.

In the Budweiser Modified 25-lap feature, NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Austin Self of Statesville, NC, made the trip to Virginia Motor Speedway pay off by picking up the Budweiser Modified victory. Michael Conley and Michael Pappas led the field to green, with Pappas taking the lead out of turn 2. Pappas would hold the lead for the first 11 laps with Self working his way to second from fifth. On lap 11, heading into turn 1, Self worked under Pappas and took the lead out of turn 2. Once out front, Self would pull away from three-time defending Champion Chase Butler. Over the last 11 laps, Butler tried to close the gap, but Self kept his composure and went on to win. Rounding out the top are Butler, Michael Pappas, Jeff Solinger, and Bret Hamilton.

In the caution field Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature, Matt Meads and Tyler Shipp led the field to green with Shipp taking the lead out of turn 2. During a lap 3 caution, Shipp would give up the lead by coming to pit road with mechanical issues. That handed the lead to defending champion Brett Adkins. Once under green, Adkins pulled away, leading the remaining laps for the victory. Rounding out the top 5 were Steve Causey, Matt Meads, Lucas Sandy, and Cole Johnston.

The Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature started off by honoring 4-time champion James Givens, who passed away unexpectedly in October of 2023. Brian Hubbard and Cory Bradley led the field to green, with Hubbard grabbing the lead out of turn 2. Hubbard would pull away from the battle for second between Trent Clemans and Cory Bradley. On lap 13, several of the division’s championship contenders got caught up in a wreck in turn 4. Once the field was back under green, Hubbard pulled away once again and went on to lead flag to flag for the victory. Rounding out the top five were Brandon Bowler, Christian Sherr, Hilton Pickeral, and Gregory Morgan.

The speedway will take next weekend off and return to racing on Saturday, April 27, for week 2 of Dirt Series Championship Weekly Racing, featuring the Victory Lap Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified, and Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car divisions in action. Spectator gates will open at 5 PM, with racing beginning at 7 PM.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA, and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland, and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2024 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway , and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


A Feature (30 Laps) – 1. 29H-Corey Almond[1]; 2. 71-Davis Lipscombe[8]; 3. 38B-Billy Hubbard[3]; 4. 08-Joey Love[4]; 5. 92-Nick Davis[7]; 6. 43-Jarrett Edwards[10]; 7. 10-Matt Ashworth[9]; 8. 7H-Curtis Hughes[11]; 9. 4-Doug Penny[13]; 10. 14-Braeden Dillinger[2]; 11. 51S-Garrett Donnell[14]; 12. 37-Bud Stinson[6]; 13. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[5]; 14. 45-William Baker[12]; 15. 17-Colby Bradshaw[15]

Fast Qualifier: Joey Love – 18.857 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps): 1. 16-Brett Adkins[4]; 2. 9-Steve Causey[3]; 3. 23-Matt Meads[1]; 4. 7-Lucas Sandy[11]; 5. 39-Cole Johnston[8]; 6. 00-Hunter Wright[5]; 7. OU1-Dale Rhodes[9]; 8. 33-Matt Brown[10]; 9. 25-Tyler Shipp[2]; 10. 1-Blake Adkins[6]; 11. 101-Adam Breeden[7]

Fast Qualifier: Tim Shelton – 21.734 seconds

Budweiser Modified (25 laps): 1. 23Z-Austin Self[5]; 2. 11-Chase Butler[6]; 3. 2-Michael Pappas[2]; 4. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[3]; 5. 1ST-Bret Hamilton[4]; 6. 7-Johnny Brooks[8]; 7. 10S-Tim Schulte[7]; 8. 21J-Curtis Mason[10]; 9. 21C-Micheal Conley[1]; 10. 9C-Colin Cartwright[11]; 11. 16-David Kendall[9]

Fast Qualifier: Chase Butler – 19.255 seconds

Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car (2 laps): 1. 23B-Brian Hubbard[1]; 2. 14-Brandon Bowler[6]; 3. 07-Christian Sherr[8]; 4. 99-Hilton Pickeral[7]; 5. 53-Gregory Morgan[9]; 6. 01-Trent Clemans[4]; 7. 21-Jacob Buie[12]; 8. 25-John Hankins Jr[17]; 9. 95-Christopher Bryan[10]; 10. 10A-Ray Ashworth[13]; 11. 9-Justin Pullen[5]; 12. 59-Jason Speelman[15]; 13. 89-Craig Newcombe[16]; 14. 55-Raymond Harper[3]; 15. 41-Cory Bradley[2]; 16. 10-Ernie Dettbarn[11]; 17. 53X-Travis Hopkins[14]

Fast Qualifier: Trent Clemans – 22.15332 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>