091616-world-challenge-winner-600Jamaica, VA – To say the 2016 edition of the FASTRAK World Challenge was phenomenal would be an understatement. The race had five lead changes and three and four wide racing all night. In the end it was Ryan Montgomery of Fairmont, WV grabbing the lead from Jensen Ford of Piney Flatts, TN on lap 35 and holding off Henry Hornsby III and Tyler Bare to score the $5000 victory.

“After getting by him for the lead earlier I knew if I could stay close to Jensen (Ford) I might have a chance on a restart or in traffic, and when we got in traffic I knew I had to take a shot at him and it worked,” commented Montgomery in victory lane.

Henry Hornsby III and Corey Almond led the field to green with Almond leading the first circuit. Almond would pace the field for the first 11 laps before Cla Knight through a slide job on him in turn 4 to take the lead on lap 12. By lap 18 Jensen Ford had worked his way to second and on lap 21 got inside Knight out of turn 4 for the lead.

After a violent flip by Corey Almond in turn 1 on a lap 22 restart Ford, Walker Arthur and Jimmy MacNamara put on a three wide clinic for the lead on the next restart with Ford holding on by inches at the line. On the next circuit Arthur swept the outside of Jensen and MacNamara to take the lead out of turn 2 only to have the caution come out yet again and hand the lead back to Jensen.

On lap 23 Ryan Montgomery worked traffic to perfection sweeping the outside of lapped traffic along with race leader Ford for the lead. On the lap 25 Ford would get back around Montgomery for the lead. He would only hold that lead for 10 more laps before Montgomery dove inside Ford out of turn four for the lead.

With Montgomery leading Tyler Bare would work his way from his eighteenth starting position to take over third. It looked as if he might have the fastest car on the track. But two late cautions allowed Montgomery to hold off the field and go on to the $5000 World Challenge victory. Rounding out the top five were henry Hornsby III, Tyler Bare, Walker Arthur and Kyle Lukon.

Heat race winners were Henry Hornsby III, Corey Almond and Cla Knight. B Main wins went to Ron Parker and Mark Parks. Virginia Motor Speedway Victory Lap Pro Late Model Champion Justin Williams set overall fast time with a lap of 18.371 seconds (97.981 mph).

The speedway will return to racing tomorrow Saturday September 17th for the $15,000 to win Aaron’s FASTRAK World Championship presented by James River Equipment and Commonwealth Motorsports. The race is open to all Chevrolet Performance Late Models, for the first time in the sanctions history, as long as they pass FASTRAK rules. The night will also feature the Southeast Dirt Modified Series in the $3000 to win “Southeast Modified Showdown”.

Competitor gates for Saturday September 17th will open at 8am with spectator gates opening at 4pm. On track activities will begin at 6 pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2016 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


A-Main (40 Laps)
1. 12M-Ryan Montgomery[15] ; 2. 39-Henry Hornsby III[1] ; 3. 30-Tyler Bare[18] ; 4. 87-Walker Arthur[9] ; 5. 184-Kyle Lukon[17] ; 6. 36-Cody Dawson[23] ; 7. 17-Logan Roberson[14] ; 8. 47P-Mark Parks[19] ; 9. 8-Ron Parker[20] ; 10. 33-Brent Hilton[13] ; 11. 83-Jensen Ford[6] ; 12. 23-Jimmy MacNamara[4] ; 13. 33G-Shane Greco[24] ; 14. 24-Matthew Nance[12] ; 15. 03-Stephen Childress[22] ; 16. 71D-Davis Lipscombe[5] ; 17. 21-Billy Beachler[10] ; 18. 55-Benji Hicks[8] ; 19. 42-Cla Knight[3] ; 20. 222-Chris Steele[7] ; 21. 7A-Corey Almond[2] ; 22. 11-David Smith[11] ; 23. 18-TJ Salango[16] ; 24. 47-Matt Quade[21]

Overall Fast Time: Justin Williams – 18.371 seconds, 97.981 mph.

Heat 1, Group A – (8 Laps – Top 6 Transfer to A Main)
1. 39-Henry Hornsby III[2] ; 2. 23-Jimmy MacNamara[3] ; 3. 222-Chris Steele[5] ; 4. 21-Billy Beachler[7] ; 5. 33-Brent Hilton[6] ; 6. 18-TJ Salango[8] ; 7. 47-Matt Quade[4] ; 8. 33G-Shane Greco[10] ; 9. 77-Joel Prosser[11] ; 10. 27-Ashley Brewster[9] ; 11. 2-Justin Williams[1]

Heat 2, Group B – (8 Laps – Top 6 Transfer to A Main)
1. 7A-Corey Almond[2] ; 2. 71D-Davis Lipscombe[4] ; 3. 55-Benji Hicks[1] ; 4. 11-David Smith[3] ; 5. 17-Logan Roberson[8] ; 6. 184-Kyle Lukon[9] ; 7. 8-Ron Parker[5] ; 8. 99T-Teddy Tate[7] ; 9. 88-Vic Chandler[10] ; 10. K22-Kenny People[6] ; 11. 1-Terry Cregger[11]

Heat 3, Group C – (8 Laps – Top 6 Transfer to A Main)
1. 42-Cla Knight[2] ; 2. 83-Jensen Ford[1] ; 3. 87-Walker Arthur[4] ; 4. 24-Matthew Nance[3] ; 5. 12M-Ryan Montgomery[8] ; 6. 30-Tyler Bare[6] ; 7. 47P-Mark Parks[5] ; 8. 03-Stephen Childress[9] ; 9. 36-Cody Dawson[7] ; 10. 40-Brent Bordeaux[12] ; 11. 5J-Darrell Dow[10] ; 12. 0-Troy Frazier[11]

B-Main 1 (10 Laps – Top 3 Transfer)
1. 47P-Mark Parks[2] ; 2. 47-Matt Qaude[1]3. 36-Cody Dawson[5] ; 4. K22-Kenny People[6] ; 5. 77-Joel Prosser[4] ; 6. 5J-Darrell Dow[8] ; 7. 99T-Teddy Tate[3] ; 8. 2-Justin Williams[7]

B-Main 2 (10 Laps – Top 3 Transfer)
1. 8-Ron Parker[1} ; 2. 03-Stephen Childress[3] ; 3. 33G-Shane Greco[2] ; 4. 88-Vic Chandler[4] ; 5. 40-Brent Bordeaux[6] ; 6. 1-Terry Cregger[7] ; 7. 0-Troy Frazier[8] ; 8. 27-Ashley Brewster[5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>