Jamaica, VA – On the night that the lights went out in Jamaica Matt Quade of Avenue, MD collected his career first Victory Lap Pro Late Model victory on Atlantic Broadband Night at Virginia Motor Speedway. After two weeks of rains that put a damper on just about all racing activities in the Mid-Atlantic the sun finally shined on a Saturday night. So, when the track experienced a complete blackout due to a power outage in the county it looked as if we would lose another event. After a 45-minute delay the lights came back on and racing was able to continue to the delight of the crowd. The blackout might have been exciting but the action in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model feature was even more exciting. Matt Quade of Avenue, MD and Bud Stinson of Appomattox, VA put on a side-by-side driving clinic, trading the lead six times before Quade would eventually take control of the 35-lap affair. Once out-front Quade would cruise to his career first Pro Late Model win and become the fifth different winner in as many races.

“That was definitely the hardest win I have ever had to work for and it has been the hardest first win to come by in my career,” commented Quade in WhosYourDriver.org victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Davis Lipscombe, Corey Almond, Dustin Ferguson and Matt Tarbox.

In other action Hunter McClendon of Williamsburg, VA became the first two-time winner in the Budweiser Modified division; in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 30 lap feature Tim Shelton of Fredericksburg, VA would lead every lap on way to his second win of the season and in the Collision One Limited Stock Car 25 lap feature James Givens of Sandston, VA picked up his fourth win of the season and second in a row.

Camden Testerman and first-time VMS competitor Bud Stinson led the Victory Lap Pro Late Model field to green with Stinson taking the lead out of turn 2 followed by Matt Quade. Stinson and Quade would put on a show for the fans racing side by side and trading the lead back and forth six times before Quade would take control of the feature. Once out front Quade would keep a comfortable distance between himself and the battle for second on back. While Quade was set on cruise the other battles in the top five were exciting as Davis Lipscombe, Corey Almond, Dustin Ferguson, Matt Tarbox and Brent Bordeaux battled to stay in the top five. No one had anything for Quade over the last 15 laps as he drove to his career first victory in the Pro Late Model division and continued the trend of a different winner in every race this season. Davis Lipscombe, Corey Almond, Dustin Ferguson and Matt Tarbox rounded out the top five.

Tim Shelton and Tyler Shipp led the Truckin Thunder field to green with Shelton jumping out to the lead out of turn 2. Shelton would pace the field with Matt Meads following close behind him in second. The only thing to slow Shelton over the remaining 25 laps were a couple of cautions that closed the field on his bumper. Meads did mount a late charge and looked inside Shelton coming out of turn 4 as they headed to the checkers but Shelton would hold on for the win. Meads, Tyler Shipp, Joe Weiss and Brett Adkins rounded out the top five.

Tim Schulte and Ryan Toole led the Budweiser Modified field to green with Toole rocketing to the lead on the outside followed by Schulte, fast qualifier Francis Jarrelle and Bret Hamilton. Toole began to pull away from the field with Schulte and Hamilton battling for second. The races first caution would fly on lap 8 for a spin by Josh Harris in turn 4. On the restart Toole once again jumped out to a nice lead as Jarrelle worked his way to third. Jarrelle would retire to the infield a lap later after losing a drive shaft. Toole would pace the field until lap 24 when McClendon worked the outside of Toole in turn 2 for the lead. Once out front McClendon would go on to his second win of 2018. Rounding out the top 5 were Tim Schulte, Bret Hamilton, Josh Harris and Jeff Solinger.

It only took James Givens 5 laps to take the lead in the Collision One Limited Stock feature and would go on to score his fourth win of the season. Raymond harper and Cory Bradley led the field to green with the action quickly going three-wide as Trent Clemans moved to the inside to take the lead at the line. His lead would be short lived as he would spin in turn 4 by himself on lap 4. Bradley would lead them back to green but James Givens would power around him for the lead. Givens would have to hold off a late charge by Bradley over the final laps to score the victory. Rounding out the top five were Cory Bradley, Mark Schools, Chad Champion and Shawn Otey.

The Speedway will return to racing next Saturday August 11th and host WhosYourDriver.org Night and week 10 of Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship weekly racing and feature the Victory Lap Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified and Collision One Limited Stock Car divisions in action.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2018 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (35 Laps): 1. 47-Matt Quade, [5]; 2. 71-Davis Lipscombe, [4]; 3. 7A-Corey Almond, [6]; 4. 1-Dustin Ferguson, [3]; 5. 66X-Matthew Tarbox, [9]; 6. 40-Brent Bordeaux, [10]; 7. 17-Camden Testerman, [1]; 8. 37-Bud Stinson, [2]; 9. 28-Carl Vaughan, [12]; 10. 25-Ray Miller, [8]; 11. 38-Nicolas Love, [11]; 12. 77-Brian Hankins, [13]; 13. 11-James Miller, [7]

Fast Qualifier: Corey Almond – 19.063 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (30 laps): 1. 55-Tim Shelton, [1]; 2. 23-Matt Meads, [3]; 3. 25-Tyler Shipp, [2]; 4. 0C-Joe Weiss, [4]; 5. 16-Brett Adkins, [8]; 6. 9-Steve Causey, [5]; 7. 22-Michael Hayes, [9]; 8. 6-Macy Causey, [15]; 9. 1-Chad Beahr, [11]; 10. 00-Hunter Shelton, [7]; 11. 0-Chase Burrow, [10]; 12. 56-John Morgan, [17]; 13. 51-Mark Gonzales, [6]; 14. 92-Kacey Gordon, [13]; 15. 14-Ryan Hutchens, [14]; 16. 91-James Snead, [12]; (DNS) 13-Christopher McIntosh,

Fast Qualifier: Joe Weiss – 21.980 seconds

Budweiser Modifieds (30 laps): 1. 33-Hunter McClendon, [9]; 2. 10S-Tim Schulte, [1]; 3. 1ST-Bret Hamilton, [3]; 4. 43-Josh Harris, [6]; 5. 7+7-Jeff Solinger, [7]; 6. 98-J.D. Eversole, [8]; 7. 11-Chase Butler, [13]; 8. 121-Mike Reynolds, [5]; 9. 48-Lance Grady, [12]; 10. 61-Eric Hill, [14]; 11. 27-Mark Schools, [15]; 12. 84-Ryan Toole, [2]; 13. 99-Charlie Hubbard, [10]; 14. 57-Curtis Barricks, [16]; 15. 16-David Kendall, [11]; 16. 01-Francis Jarelle III, [4]

Fast Qualifier: Francis Jarrelle – 20.323 seconds

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (25 lap): 1. 8-James Givens, [4]; 2. 41-Cory Bradley, [2]; 3. 12-Mark Schools, [6]; 4. 08-Chad Champion, [8]; 5. 18-Sean Otey, [11]; 6. 4-Randy Hutchens, [14]; 7. 25-Marty Coltrain, [10]; 8. 47-Christian Sherr, [12]; 9. 00-Bill Hardman Jr, [9]; 10. 26-Stephanie Johnston, [7]; 11. 88-Jay Seward, [16]; 12. 5-Joe Fancher, [13]; 13. 14-Brandon Bowler, [5]; 14. 9-Justin Pullen, [17]; 15. 01-Trent Clemans, [3]; 16. 59-Carl Hazelwood, [15]; 17. 36-Dustin Bishop, [18]; 18. 22-Raymond Harper, [1]; (DNS) 38-Caleb Carter,

Fast Qualifier: James Givens – 23.453 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>