Jamaica, VA – Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, VA took over the top spot in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model after race leader Jared Powell of Charlottesville, VA and second place Matt Quade of Mechanicsville, MD got together on lap 23 seconding both the rear of the field. Once out front Bare powered away from the field to take the win.

“We hate to win them that way, but we will take it. We found something on the top groove and I believe we had something for them anyway. We had a chance to race closer to home tonight but we chose to come back to Virginia Motor Speedway because we love it here,” commented Bare in WhosYourDriver.org victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Ryan Adams, Matt Tarbox, Corey Almond and Camden Testerman.

In other action Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA scored an emotional win in the Budweiser Modified feature. In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman feature Tim Shelton of Fredericksburg, VA wrestled the lead away from Joe Weiss of Elizabeth City, NC to become the third winner in as many races and in the Collision One Limited Stock Car 25 lap feature Marty Coltrain of North Chesterfield, VA held off a late race challenge from point leader James Givens of Sandston, VA to return to victory lane after a two year absence.

Chuck Bowie and Jared Powell led the Victory Lap Late Model field to green with Powell grabbing the lead out of turn 2. On the next lap Matt Quade would get by Bowie for second and set out to catch Powell. On lap 12 Quade tried to get under Powell for the lead but was unable to make the pass. For the next 16 laps the two battled for the lead side by side with Tyler Bare making it three wide on several occasions. On lap 23 Quade dove in hard under Powell in turn four and slammed into the side of Powell’s car sending him for a spin. The move resulted in a black flag for Quade sending both drivers to the rear of the field. That handed the lead over to Bare, a lead he would not relinquish as he drove on to the win. Rounding out the top five were Ryan Adams, Matt Tarbox, Corey Almond and Camden Testerman. The win by Bare makes it three different winners in three races.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman it only took six laps for Tim Shelton to grab the lead away from Joe Weiss, but those were six hotly contested laps. Once out front though Shelton was able to pull away to grab the win. Rounding out the top five were Weiss, Matt Meads, Steve Causey and Tyler Shipp. Shelton’s win makes it three different winners in three events.

In the Budweiser Modified 30 lap feature it looked as if Francis Jarrell was going to walk away with an easy win. But on lap 11 two lapped cars spun in turn 3, collecting the leader in the process. That handed the lead over to Joey Polevoy and he took complete advantage of the situation. Once the field got back under green Polevoy pulled away from the battle for second between Tim Schulte and Chase Butler. Polevoy would cruise to the win with Schulte, Butler, twentieth starting Ryan Toole and Jeff Solinger.

It may look like Marty Coltrain had an easy time in grabbing his first Collision One Limited Stock Car win in two years, but what the scorecard doesn’t show you is the amount of challenges for the lead he had to defend. Coltrain and Chad Champion led the field to green with Coltrain grabbing the lead out of turn 2. Champion tried several times to get under Coltrain to take the lead but was unable to make the pass. Trent Clemens and James Givens then made it a four car race for the lead. On lap 6 Givens took over second with a power move to the outside of both champion and Clemens in turn 2. Once in second he began to apply pressure to the bumper of Coltrain. Just behind him Corey Bradley had worked his way from his twentieth starting position to pressure Givens for second. Coltrain worked his line and kept Givens at bay to take home his first win in two years. Rounding out the top five were Givens, Bradley, Champion and Brandon Bowler.

The Speedway will take next Saturday July 7th off and return to racing on Saturday June 14 and host week 8 of Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship weekly action featuring the Victory Lap Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified and Collision One Limited Stock Car divisions in action.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2018 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (35 Laps):
1. 30-Tyler Bare, [7]; 2. 12-Ryan Adams, [8]; 3. 66X-Matthew Tarbox, [9]; 4. 7A-Corey Almond, [6]; 5. 17-Camden Testerman, [3]; 6. 5J-Darrell Dow, [15]; 7. 47-Matt Quade, [4]; 8. 38-Nicolas Love, [11]; 9. 28-Carl Vaughan, [16]; 10. 11M-James Miller, [10]; 11. 20-James Bunn, [18]; 12. 08-Tyler Detter, [12]; 13. 14C-Chuck Bowie, [1]; 14. 71-Davis Lipscombe, [5]; 15. 2*-Jared Powell, [2]; 16. 40-Brent Bordeaux, [17]; 17. 77-Brian Hankins, [19]; 18. 23M-John McClellan, [13]; (DNS) 8-Wesley Givens,

Fast Qualifier: Corey Almond – 18.924 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (30 laps):
1. 55-Tim Shelton, [4]; 2. 43J-Joe Weiss, [2]; 3. 23-Matt Meads, [3]; 4. 9-Steve Causey, [5]; 5. 25-Tyler Shipp, [8]; 6. 00-Hunter Shelton, [11]; 7. 17-John Nickens, [12]; 8. 1-Chad Beahr, [14]; 9. 6-Macy Causey, [17]; 10. 51-Mark Gonzales, [6]; 11. 22-Michael Hayes, [7]; 12. 0-Chase Burrow, [10]; 13. 91-James Snead, [15]; 14. 14-Ryan Hutchens, [16]; 15. 92-Kacey Gordon, [13]; 16. 13-Christopher McIntosh, [18]; 17. 16-Brett Adkins, [9]; (DNS) 88-Bill Coada,

Fast Qualifier: Mark Gonzales – 22.373 seconds

Budweiser Modifieds (30 laps):
1. 51-Joey Polevoy, [4]; 2. 10S-Tim Schulte, [6]; 3. 11-Chase Butler, [10]; 4. 84-Ryan Toole, [20]; 5. 7+7-Jeff Solinger, [9]; 6. 33-Hunter McClendon, [3]; 7. 98-J.D. Eversole, [8]; 8. 27-Mark Schools, [12]; 9. 99-Charlie Hubbard, [5]; 10. 44-Stephen Bryant, [11]; 11. 48-Lance Grady, [13]; 12. 01-Francis Jarelle III, [2]; 13. 1ST-Bret Hamilton, [19]; 14. 16-David Kendall, [14]; 15. 68-Adam Hoegerl, [16]; 16. 316-Josh Roberson, [7]; 17. 21J-Curtis Mason, [18]; 18. 57-Curtis Barricks, [15]; 19. 43-Josh Harris, [1]; (DNS) 18J-Jeremy Biggers,

Fast Qualifier: Joey Polevoy – 20.027 seconds

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (25 laps):
1. 25-Marty Coltrain, [1]; 2. 8-James Givens, [8]; 3. 41-Cory Bradley, [20]; 4. 08-Chad Champion, [2]; 5. 23-Brandon Bowler, [14]; 6. 4-Randy Hutchens, [7]; 7. 09-Jacob Buie, [5]; 8. 88-Jay Seward, [13]; 9. 01-Trent Clemans, [3]; 10. 47-Christian Sherr, [18]; 11. 9-Justin Pullen, [17]; 12. 26-Stephanie Johnston, [11]; 13. 59-Carl Hazelwood, [15]; 14. 00-Bill Hardman Jr, [9]; 15. 18-John Hankins Jr, [10]; 16. 5-Joe Fancher, [12]; 17. 22-Raymond Harper, [4]; 18. 12-Mark Schools, [6]; 19. 39-Cole Johnston, [19]; (DNS) 36-Dustin Bishop,

Fast Qualifier: Trent Clemans – 23. 307 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>