clanton alone webJamaica, VA – In the eight year history of the TireX USA 100 there had yet to be a repeat winner… the streak is still alive as Shane Clanton of Zebulon, GA came from ninth to take home the $10,000 victory. Clanton methodically worked his way from his ninth place starting position joining the battle for the lead on lap 29 going three wide with race leader Austin Hubbard Seaford, DE and Casey Roberts of Toccoa, GA.

On lap 39 Clanton got under Roberts in turn 2 while Roberts worked under Hubbard to make it three wide to the line. On the next circuit Clanton would get under Roberts out of turn 2 for second and set his sights on Hubbard. On 41 Clanton worked under Hubbard out of turn 4 with Hubbard holding the lead by inches. Heading into turn 1 Clanton cleared Hubbard to take the lead. Once out front Clanton set sail and went on to pick up the big win.

“I was just biding my time there trying to get to the front and waiting for the right moment to take the lead; we set up the car to work the bottom and took a few chances on the way to the front. Hats off to the track for putting together such a great track for us to run on,” commented Clanton in victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Austin Hubbard, Casey Roberts, twelfth starting Rick Eckert and seventeenth starting Jeff Smith.

In other action Daniel Baggerly of Richmond, VA picked up the FASTRAK National Tour win after a great battle with Walker Arthur of Forest, VA.

Austin Hubbard and Kyle Hardy led the Ultimate Super Late Model Series field to green with Hubbard rocketing to the lead. Hubbard looked almost untouchable as he pulled away from the field. With Hubbard out front Hardy worked to hold defending TieX USA 100 champion Chris Ferguson at bay for second. On lap 13 Ferguson completed a slide job in turn 2 to take second and looked to be gaining on Hubbard for the lead when his car developed mechanical issues ending his night on lap 29.

The lead went three wide after that between Hubbard, Roberts and Clanton. Clanton picked off Roberts first on lap 40 and on lap 42 took the lead from Hubbard to go on to score the victory.

Rounding out the top five were Austin Hubbard, Casey Roberts, twelfth starting Rick Eckert and seventeenth starting Jeff Smith.

Winning heat races were Austin Hubbard, Kyle Hardy and Dustin Mitchell.

In the 40 lap FASTRAK National Tour event Daniel Baggerly of Richmond, VA and Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA led the field to green with Bagggerly jumping out the lead. Once out front Baggerly began to pull away from the field leaving Lipscombe to deal with Walker Arthur of Forest, VA for second.

Arthur got by Lipscombe on lap 19 and set out to catch Baggerly who had stretched his lead to about ten car lengths. On lap 22 Baggerly began working lapped traffic with Arthur closing quickly. With Arthur now on his bumper Baggerly split two lapped cars to get away by a couple of car lengths. On lap 25 Baggerly made a slight mistake in turn 1 allowing Arthur to get inside for the lead. On lap 28 Baggerly closed in on Arthur and dove under him heading into turn 4 to take back the top spot. Once out front Baggerly turned up the wick and went on to collect his first FASTRAK National Tour event and the $3000 top prize.

Rounding out the top five were Walker Arthur, Davis Lipscombe, Tyler Bare and Ray Cook.

Winning heats were David Lipscombe, Daniel Baggerly and Walker Arthur.

The speedway will take the Memorial Day Weekend off and return to racing Saturday May 30th to host week 4 of the Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series weekly racing featuring the Victory Lap Late Model, Aaron’s Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified and Collision One Limited Stock Car divisions in action.

Competitor gates for Saturday May 30th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps.

Adult tickets are just $12; seniors (60+) $10; military $8; students 11 – 17 years old $6; and children 10 and under free. Pit passes will be $20. All tickets will be sold day of event.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2014 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at and on

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Ultimate Super Late Models:
Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. 11-Austin Hubbard[2] ; 2. 101-Casey Roberts[1] ; 3. 44-Stevie Long[4] ; 4. 151-Kyle Lear[3] ; 5. 37-Brian Tavenner[6] ; 6. 88-Ricky Elliott[5] ; 7. 7-Ross Robinson[8] ; 8. 2C-Joey Coulter[7]

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. 99V-Kyle Hardy[3] ; 2. 38-Kenny Pettyjohn[2] ; 3. 2-Dennis Franklin[4] ; 4. 25Z-Mason Zeigler[1] ; 5. 22E-Russell Erwin[8] ; 6. 00-Jeff Smith[6] ; 7. 6-Jamie Lathroum[7] ; 8. KB1-Kerry King Jr[9] ; 9. 4-Amanda Whaley[5]

Heat 3 (10 Laps)- 1. 51-Dustin Mitchell[2] ; 2. 22-Chris Ferguson[1] ; 3. 25-Shane Clanton[3] ; 4. 7R-Rick Eckert[4] ; 5. 22S-Gregg Satterlee[6] ; 6. 53-Ray Cook[5] ; 7. 8-Joe Leavell[7] ; 8. 41-Joe Cox[8] ; 9. 75-Colton Flinner[9]

A-Main 1 (50 Laps) – 1. 25-Shane Clanton[9] ; 2. 11-Austin Hubbard[1] ; 3. 101-Casey Roberts[4] ; 4. 7R-Rick Eckert[12] ; 5. 00-Jeff Smith[17] ; 6. 38-Kenny Pettyjohn[5] ; 7. 2-Dennis Franklin[8] ; 8. 2C-Joey Coulter[22] ; 9. 25Z-Mason Zeigler[11] ; 10. 22S-Gregg Satterlee[15] ; 11. 22E-Russell Erwin[14] ; 12. 75-Colton Flinner[26] ; 13. 22-Chris Ferguson[6] ; 14. 6-Jamie Lathroum[20] ; 15. 44-Stevie Long[7] ; 16. KB1-Kerry King Jr[23] ; 17. 7-Ross Robinson[19] ; 18. 99V-Kyle Hardy[2] ; 19. 4-Amanda Whaley[25] ; 20. 51-Dustin Mitchell[3] ; 21. 53-Ray Cook[18] ; 22. 41-Joe Cox[24] ; 23. 8-Joe Leavell[21] ; 24. 37-Brian Tavenner[13] ; 25. 88-Ricky Elliott[16] ; 26. 151-Kyle Lear[10]

Fast Qualifier: Chris Ferguson – 16.864 seconds.

FASTRAK Pro Late Models:
Heat 1 (10 Laps) – 1. 16B-Daniel Baggerly[2] ; 2. 30-Tyler Bare[1] ; 3. 48-Charlie Walker[3] ; 5. 2*-Jared Powell[5] ; 6. 7-Corey Almond[6] ; 7. 55-Jimmy Duncan[4]

Heat 2 (10 Laps) – 1. 87-Walker Arthur[1] ; 2. 41-Joe Cox[2] ; 3. 8-Ron Parker[3] ; 4. 6-Dillon Brown[4] ; 5. 16-Brett Adkins[5] ; 6. 09-Brad Rigdon[8] ; 7. 19s-Scott Tessman[6] ; 8. 15-Darrell Adkins[7] ; 9. 24-Matthew Nance[9]

Heat 3 (10 Laps) – 1. 71-Davis Lipscombe[2] ; 2. 24S-Jimmy Schiltz[1] ; 3. 11-David Smith[4] ; 4. 53-Ray Cook[3] ; 5. 2-Colby Cannon[5] ; 6. 42-Cla Knight[7] ; 7. 23-jimmy Mac[6]

A-Main 1 (40 Laps) – 1. 16B-Daniel Baggerly[2] ; 2. 87-Walker Arthur[3] ; 3. 71-Davis Lipscombe[1] ; 4. 30-Tyler Bare[5] ; 5. 53-Ray Cook[10] ; 6. 11-David Smith[7] ; 7. 8-Ron Parker[9] ; 8. 24S-Jimmy Schiltz[4] ; 9. 2*-Jared Powell[14] ; 10. 6-Dillon Brown[12] ; 11. 2-Colby Cannon[13] ; 12. 42-Cla Knight[16] ; 13. 48-Charlie Walker[8] ; 14. 16-Brett Adkins[15] ; 15. 41-Joe Cox[6] ; 16. 24-Matthew Nance[11] ; 17. 15-Darrell Adkins[22] ; 18. 09-Brad Rigdon[18] ; 19. 7-Corey Almond[17] ; 20. 19s-Scott Tessman[21] ; 21. 23-Jimmy Mac[19] ; 22. 55-Jimmy Duncan[20] ; 23. 28-Carl Vaughan[23]

Fast Qualifier: Walker Arthur – 19.158 seconds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>