fastrak vl 600Jamaica, VA – Tim Dohm of Charleston, WV battled with early race leader David Smith of Inman, SC side by side for 11 laps before finally taking the top spot on lap 27. Once out front Dohm survived several cautions with Jonathan Davenport behind him trying to get by for the lead. Dohm went on to take the $20,000 Fastrak World Championship by almost 3 seconds.

“I’ve won some $10,000 to win races but this is amazing, the biggest win of my career,” commented an elated Dohm. “The car was just amazing, I could take it anywhere on the racetrack,” added Dohm.

Rounding out the top five were twentieth starting Jonathan Davenport, Max Blair, Jimmy Shiltz and Rick Williams.

B-Main wins went to Tyler Hersey, Johnathan Davenport and Kyle Thomas.

Heat race winners on Friday night were Colby Cannon, Walker Arthur, David Smith, Chris Meadows, Jimmy Shiltz and Tim Dohm.

In other action Matt Long of Concord, NC led flag to flag to win the Engine Builders Non-Qualifier 25 lap race and Matt Quade picked up the win in $2000 to win 30 lap Safety-Kleen Modified Rumble on the River.

Colby Cannon and Walker Arthur led the 26 car field to green with Arthur taking the lead out of turn 2. On a restart on lap 3 Smith swept the outside of Arthur out of turn 4 to take the lead. Smith led the next 11 laps unchallenged, on lap 15 that all changed. Tim Dohm went to work on the outside as Smith worked the cushion. For the next 11 laps the two raced side by side with Smith holding on to the lead each time until lap 26 when Dohm finally got by for good out of turn 2.

The driver on the move was twentieth starting Jonathan Davenport who woked his way to second by lap 32. On lap 34 he finally got by Smith for the spot with Corey Gordon following to third. On with twenty laps to go Dohm had stretched the lead to a full straight over the Davenport and Gordon battle. Gordon took second away on lap 50 while Dohm got slowed by a four wide battle in the back. Gordon gave up second on lap 52 when he came to stop with a flat left rear tire.

On the final restart Davenport gave it one more shot but Dohm pulled away out of turn 2 and on to the $20,000 victory. Rounding out the top five were twentieth starting Jonathan Davenport, Max Blair, Jimmy Shiltz and Rick Williams.

In the 25 lap Engine Builder Non-Qualifer race Joe Cox and Matt Long led the field to green with Long taking the lead out of turn 2. Once out front Long put it on cruise control while they battled for second behind him. Cox, Kenny Peebles and Josh Holtgraver all took turns at trying to run down Long for the lead in the caution filled event. Long went on in dominating fashion, never being challenged to pick up the $1500 win.

In the Budweiser Modified $2000 to win Safety-Kleen Modified Rumble on the River 30 Matt Quade took the lead on lap 10 and never looked back and went on to collect the win.

Bret Hamilton and Mike Reynolds led the field to green with Hamilton taking control of the lead out of turn 2. Hamilton paced the field until lap 9 when Quade dove under him in turn 2 to take the lead. Once out front Quade began to pull away from the battle for second. Joey Polevoy drove under Hamilton in turn one on lap 18 to take over second. A caution on lap 28 set up a green, white, checker finish. On the final restart Qaude pulled away and went on to the $2000 win. Rounding out the top five were Polevoy, Hamilton, Chris Arnold and Josh Harris. Matt Qaude also set a new division track record in qualifying with a lap of 18.901 seconds.

The speedway will now switch gears and host the 10th Annual Down and Dirty Run-A-Muck Mud Bog and Mud sling presented by James River Equipment, RedNex Sporting Goods and the Virginia Army National Guard on Saturday October 11th. Information on the event can be found at

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2014 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at and on

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Fastrak World Championship Pro Late Model 60 Lap A-Main: 1. Tim Dohm, 2. Jonathon Davenport, 3. 111 Max Blair, 4. Jimmy Schiltz, 5. .Rick Williams, 6. Daniel Baggerly, 7. Tyler Hershey, 8. Corey Gordon, 9. David Smith, 10. Matthew Nance, 11. Damian Bidwell, 12. Mark Parks, 13. Henry Hornsby III, 14. Dennis Lunger Jr., 15. Bobby Thompson, 16. Joe Martin, 17. Joe Ender, 18. Lee Cooper, 19. Steve Cooke, 20. Kyle Thomas, 21. Walker Arthur, 22. Colby Cannon, 23. Chris Meadows, 24. Tyler Bare, 25. Andrew Satterlee, 26. Taylor Hicks

Engine Builders Non-Qualifier Challenge (25 laps): 1. Matt Long, 2. Kenny Pebbles, 3. Joe Cox, 4. Josh Holtgraver, 5. Davis Lipscombe, 6. Rick Solari, 7. David Puckett, 8. Ricky Wells, 9. Jimmy Duncan, 10. Joel Prosser, 11. Derek Rogers, 12. Corey Almond, 13. Corey Neal, 14. Brad Rigdon, 15. Parker Herring, 16. Chad Martin, 17. Robert Rohrer, 18. Neal Hudgins, 19. Ryan Montgomery.

Budweiser Modifieds (30 laps):
A Main:1. Matt Quade (Mechanicsville, MD), 2. Joey Polevoy (Powhatan, VA), 3. Bret Hamilton (Powhatan, VA), 4. Chris Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 5. Josh Harris (Gloucester, VA), 6. Stephen Quade (Mechanicsville, MD), 7. Lance Grady 11. Jeremy Biggers (Fredericksburg, VA), 12. Francis Jarrelle III (Chesterfield, VA), 13. BJ Mongold (Crimora, VA), 14. Tim Schulte (Troy, VA), 15. Brian Maxey (King George, VA), 16. Matt Marshall (Stuarts Draft, VA), 17. Mike Reynolds (Clements, MD), 18. Brent Bordeaux (Fredericksburg, VA), 19. Matt Ashworth (Mechanicsville, VA), 20. Craig Ramich (Fairfax, VA), 21. Aaron Harris (Richmond, VA),

Fast Qualifier: Matt Quade – 18.901 seconds (NEW DIVISION TRACK RECORD)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>