08_16_14front page 200x250Jamaica, VA – Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor The speedway will be in action this Saturday August 16th to host Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series “Dirt Track” Saturday Night. The evening will feature the Victory Lap Late Model, Aaron’s Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified and Collision One Limited Stock Car divisions in Virginia National Guard Dirt Series action.

Heading into the last few weeks of racing the championship point battles are heating up.

In the Victory Lap Late Models Justin Williams continues atop the standings. Williams rebounded from a disappointing first race in last week’s twins to win the second feature for his seventh overall victory.

Victory Lap Late Model top 5: Justin Williams – 1103; John Staton – 1057; Anthony Kincaid – 978; Stephen Childress – 975; Petie Coffey – 966.

Since Bobby Thomson took over the points lead in the Aaron’s Pro Late Model division he has never looked back. Held out of victory lane in last weeks twin features Thompson still holds a 57 point lead over Davis Lipscombe with four races to go.

Aaron’s Pro Late Model top 5: Bobby Thompson – 1058; Davis Lipscombe – 1001; Neal Hudgins – 998; Chad Martin – 902; Cory Almond – 854.

Last week was an interesting week in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman division as defending champion Brett Adkins continued his resurgence from a poor start to the season with his third win of the season and Matt Ashworth picked up his career first win. Sitting just 14 points back in second Jeremiah Marshall will try to gain on Adkins heading into the final four races of the season.

Truckin Thunder Sportsman top 5: Brett Adkins – 1151; Jeremiah Marshall – 1137; Hunter Shelton – 1130; Davey Pullen – 1110; Macy Causey – 1058.

The one division that may be wrapped up already might be the Budweiser Modifieds. Matt Quade has dominated all year and looked to be on his way to his ninth win of the season when his motor let go in turn 3 on the final lap. That allowed Mike Reynolds to take the sweep of the night.

Budweiser Modified top 5: Matt Quade – 1225; Matt Marshall – 1116; Josh Harris – 1099; Joey Polevoy – 1091; Brian Maxey – 1058.

In the Collision One Limited Stock Car division a close point battle between Brian Bradley and Brandon Sandridge has emerged over the last few weeks. There have been seven different winners and Bradley holds a 15 point lead over defending champion Sandridge heading into the final four races of the year.

Collision One Limited Stock Car top 5: Brian Bradley – 1138; Brandon Sandridge – 1123; Ryan Hutchens – 1082; Chris Champion – 1035; Ben Lowry – 1031.

Competitor gates for Saturday August 16th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps and features will start at 8pm.

Divisions scheduled to race on Saturday: Victory Lap Late Models (30 Laps); Aaron’s Pro Late Models (25 Laps); Budweiser Modifieds (25 Laps); Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps) and the Collision One Limited Stock Cars (20 laps). All divisions will run Hot Lap Time Trials and Features.

Admission price for Adults $12, seniors (60+) $10; military (active/retired w/ proper I.D.) $8, students 13 – 17 years old $6, children 7 to 12 $4 and children 6 and under admitted free. We offer a family pass for $25 (two adults and two children 12 and under). Pit passes will be $20.

To enhance the fans racing experience the speedway has installed a short wave FM transmitter and all of the evening’s action can be heard at 95.5 FM. So bring your portable radio headset and enjoy hearing all the action.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>