Jamaica, VA – Billy Hubbard of Cobbs Creek, VA, held off Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA, in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model 30 lap feature at Virginia Motor Speedway to become the sixth different winner of the 2023 season. Lipscombe got to the outside of Hubbard three times between laps fifteenth and seventeen before Hubbard moved up into Lipscombe’s line and found it to his liking as well. Hubbard would stretch out his lead and go on to take the win.

“We have been trying so hard to get to victory lane; once Lipscombe got to my outside, I moved up and found his line worked for my car as well,” commented an emotional Hubbard in Virginia Is for Racing Lovers victory lane.

Derek Magee and Hubbard led the field to green, with Hubbard taking the lead out of turn 2.  Behind him, the battle for second went 3-wide between Magee, Lipscombe and point leader Jeremy Pilkerton. Magee would emerge with the spot, with Lipscombe working the high line, looking for a way around him.  On lap 4, it looked like Libscombe would take the spot, but Magee would defend the spot until Lipscombe rocketed by him in turns one and two on lap 9 to take second.

Lipscombe would then set out to reel in Hubbard, who had almost a full straight lead. By lap 17, Lipscombe had closed that distance and was looking to get by for the lead. Using the high line, Lipscombe would get side-by-side with Hubbard for two laps before falling back into second place. Hubbard went on to take the win, with Davis Lipscombe, Derek Magee, Jeremy Pilkerton, and Corey Almond rounding out the top five.

In the Budweiser Modified 25-lap feature, Bret Hamilton and Chase Butler led the field to green. Heading into turn two, the battle for the lead went 4-wide briefly between Hamilton, Butler, Russell Erwin, and Michael Pappas. Hamilton would lead Butler into turn 3, where Butler put a slide job on him to take the lead out of turn 4. On lap 9, Erwin began looking to the outside of Butler for the lead. The two traded the lead back and forth for the next three laps before Erwin rocketed around Butler for the lead on lap 13 to take the lead. Erwin was pulling away when his car slowed in turn 2, ending his night, handing the lead back to Butler. Once out front, Butler paced the field with the battle for second raging behind him. Butler would go on to take his fourth win of the season, followed to the checkers by Jeff Solinger, Bret Hamilton, Tim Schulte, and Doug Penny.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25-lap feature, Steve Causey of Smithfield, VA, came from his fourth-place starting spot to grab the lead out of turn 4. Once out front, Causey pulled away from the field and the battle for second. On lap 7 behind him, Hunter Wright, Brett Adkins, and Matt Meads went 3-wide in turn 2 for second. Wright would wrestle the spot away and try to catch the leader, Causey. Causey would go on to take his first win of 2023. Rounding out the top five were Hunter Wright, Adam Breeden, Brett Adkins, and Matt Meads.

In the Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock 20 lap feature, it only took Johnny Brooks of Aylett, VA, eight laps to take the lead from his eighth-place starting position. It wasn’t as easy as it looked, as Brooks had a tough battle with Brian Maxey on this way to the front. But once in third, he began picking off the top two drivers one at a time. First Raymond Harper, then leader Cory Bradley. Once Brooks took the lead, he pulled away for his sixth win of the season, followed by Corey Bradley, Raymond Harper, Trent Clemans, and Justin Pullen.

The speedway will return to racing on Saturday, September 16, to host Joe Hudson’s Collision Center Championship Night and the final week of Dirt Series Championship weekly racing. The night will feature the Victory Lap Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified, and Collision One Limited Stock divisions in action. Champions will be crowned in all four divisions.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA, and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA, in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland, and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule of Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2023 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway , and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models A Main 1 (30 laps): 1. 38B-Billy Hubbard[2]; 2. 71-Davis Lipscombe[4]; 3. 96-Derek Magee[1]; 4. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[3]; 5. 29H-Corey Almond[6]; 6. 43-Jarrett Edwards[7]; 7. 7-Curtis Hughes[11]; 8. 37-Bud Stinson[5]; 9. 28-Tyler Dettor[10]; 10. 38-Nicolas Love[12]; 11. 51S-Garrett Donnell[13]; 12. 45-William Baker[9]; 13. 11-Ed Pope III[14]; 14. 17-Colby Bradshaw[15]; 15. 10-Matt Ashworth[8]

Fast Qualifier: Davis Lipscombe – 19.715 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps): 1. 9-Steve Causey[4]; 2. 00-Hunter Wright[5]; 3. 01-Adam Breeden[2]; 4. 16-Brett Adkins[8]; 5. 23-Matt Meads[3]; 6. 01X-Tommy Upshaw[1]; 7. 101-Tony Breeden[7]; 8. 33-Matt Brown[12]; 9. 30-Joe Millen[11]; 10. 1-Blake Adkins[6]; 11. 26-Stephanie Johnston[10]; 12. OU1-Dale Rhodes[9]

Fast Qualifier: Hunter Wright – 21.1679 seconds

Budweiser Modified (25 laps): 1. 11-Chase Butler[2]; 2. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[6]; 3. 1ST-Bret Hamilton[1]; 4. 10S-Tim Schulte[7]; 5. 4-Doug Penny[5]; 6. 44-Stephen Bryant[10]; 7. 814-Samuel Lamborgini[9]; 8. 40-Brent Bordeaux[8]; 9. 2-Michael Pappas[3]; 10. 88-Jay Seward[11]; 11. 36-Ronald Lamborgini[12]; 12. 22-Russell Erwin[4]

Fast Qualifier: Russell Erwin – 20.491 seconds

Joe Hudson’s Collision Center Limited Stock Car (20 laps): 1. 7-Johnny Brooks[8]; 2. 41-Cory Bradley[2]; 3. 55-Raymond Harper[4]; 4. 01-Trent Clemans[5]; 5. 9-Justin Pullen[6]; 6. 04-Brian Maxey[1]; 7. 99-Hilton Pickeral[12]; 8. 6-Zac Elliott[10]; 9. 59-Jason Speelman[11]; 10. 14-Christopher Bryan[3]; 11. 25-John Hankins Jr[7]; 12. 85-WL Johnston[13]; 13. 53-Gregory Morgan[9]

Fast Qualifier: Johnny Brooks – 22.608 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>