Jamaica, VA – Chuck Bowie of Welcome, MD, and Jeremy Pilkerton of Loveville, MD, both took home victories in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model Twin 15’s on Truckin Thunder Military Appreciation Night presented by Racing for Heroes and Tech for Troops.

In the first Victory Lap Pro Late Model 15 lap feature, Bud Stinson and Billy Hubbard led the field to green, but Davis Lipscombe would lead the opening lap. On a lap six restart, Chuck Bowie would rocket under Lipscombe in turn 1 for the lead. Bowie would put some distance between himself and the battle for second. Jeremy Pilkerton would take second and set out to catch Bowie with the laps winding down. Bowie would go on to score the win ahead of Pilkerton, Billy Hubbard, Nick Davis, and Curtis Hughes.

“This is only the second race on this car, after wrecking it at Hagerstown Speedway a couple of weeks ago; I can’t thank my wife for all the hard work she puts into making this car go fast,” commented Bowie in Virginia Is For Racing Lovers victory lane.

After the invert, Nick Davis and Billy Hubbard led the field to green. Davis would take control out of turn 2 and lead the first circuit. On the next lap, Jeremy Pilkerton would get under Bud Stonson for second and set out to close in on the leader. By lap 6, Bowie’s lead was whittled down to two car lengths. With four to go, Pilkerton began to close in on Davis. Several times getting a nose to his inside only to be held at bay. Pilkerton would drive it deep into turn 1 on the final lap, closing the gap and looking inside as they raced out of turn 2. In turn 3, Pilkerton again drove it in deep, this time trying the outside of Davis. Pilkerton would get door to door as the two raced to the line but would lose by about a nose. After going over the scales, Davis was found to be light and was Dq’d, giving the win to Pilkerton. Rounding out the top five were Chuck Bowie, Bud Stinson, Jarrett Edwards, and Curtis Hughes.

“I hate winning this way; this is Davis’s win. But we will take the win and second place finish in the first race and work to be better next race,” commented Pilkerton in Virginia Is For Racing Lovers victory lane.

In the Budweiser Modified 25-lap feature, it didn’t take long for Chase Butler of Mechanicsville, VA, to get to the front from his fourth-place starting position, catching race leader Doug Penny of Vass, NC, on lap three as he went to the outside to take the lead. Once in the lead, Butler pulled away with Penny in tow, and the battle for third heating up. Butler would cruise to his third win of the season over Doug Penny, Brent Bordeaux, Lance Grady, and Jeff Solinger. In the Petie’s Radiator Service Pole Challenge, Chase Butler took home $100, last place qualifier Cory Bradley received $50, fifth place qualifier Lance Grady received $25, and eighth place qualifier, Curtis Mason, Jr also received $25.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25-lap feature, Adam Breeden of Scottsville, VA, and Brett Adkins of Saluda, VA, led the field to the green, with Adkins taking the lead. Tim Shelton of Fredericksburg, VA, worked his way to Adkins bumper by lap 8. Shelton would try high and low to get by for several laps to take the lead. On lap 11, Shelton would get the opening he was looking for as Adkins pushed up the track in turn 3, where Shelton would take the lead coming out of turn 4. Once out front, Shelton pulled away to go on and score the win over Adkins, Adam Breeden, Steve Causey, and Hunter Wright.

In the Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature Johnny Brooks of Mechanicsville, VA, got the win the hard way. On lap 2, Brooks would bring out a caution when getting spun in turn 4. Brian Maxey led the first five laps before Ryan Hutchens rocked to his outside for the lead on lap 6. With Hutchens leading and the battle for second raging between Maxey Cory Bradley, Johnny Brooks would drive his way into the battle. By lap 12, Brooks had made his way to second. On lap 15, Brooks began working on Hutchens for the lead. On lap 16, after a slide job by Brooks, and a crossover by Hutchens, Brooks would get inside Hutchens in turn 4 and take the lead. Brooks would go on to score the win ahead of Hutchens, Trent Clmons, Bill Coada, and Brian Maxey.

The speedway will take next weekend off and return to racing on Saturday, August 5, to host The Modified Mafia Modified Series in a $2500 to win event. Week 8 of Dirt Series Championship weekly racing will also feature the Victory Lap Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, and Collision One Limited Stock divisions in action.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA, and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA, in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland, and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule of Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2023 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway , and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models A Main 1 (15 laps): 1. 14C-Chuck Bowie[4]; 2. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[8]; 3. 29H-Billy Hubbard[2]; 4. 92-Nick Davis[5]; 5. 7-Curtis Hughes[6]; 6. 37-Bud Stinson[1]; 7. 10-Matt Ashworth[9]; 8. 43-Jarrett Edwards[13]; 9. 45-William Baker[11]; 10. 51-Jerry Barker[7]; 11. 71-Davis Lipscombe[3]; 12. 28-Tyler Dettor[10]; 13. 51S-Garrett Donnell[12]; 14. 17-Colby Bradshaw[14]

Victory Lap Pro Late Models A Main 2 (15 laps): 1. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[3]; 2. 14C-Chuck Bowie[4]; 3. 37-Bud Stinson[6]; 4. 43-Jarrett Edwards[8]; 5. 7-Curtis Hughes[5]; 6. 71-Davis Lipscombe[11]; 7. 10-Matt Ashworth[7]; 8. 29H-Billy Hubbard[2]; 9. 51-Jerry Barker[10]; 10. 28-Tyler Dettor[12]; 11. 45-William Baker[9]; 12. 51S-Garrett Donnell[13]; 13. 17-Colby Bradshaw[14]; 14. (DQ) 92-Nick Davis[1]

Fast Qualifier: Nick Davis – 18.838 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps): 1. 55-Tim Shelton[4]; 2. 16-Brett Adkins[2]; 3. 01-Adam Breeden[1]; 4. 9-Steve Causey[6]; 5. 00-Hunter Wright[3]; 6. 23-Matt Meads[5]; 7. 1-Billy Adkins[8]; 8. 101-Tony Breeden[9]; 9. OU1-Dale Rhodes[10]; 10. 26-Stephanie Johnston[7]

Fast Qualifier: Steve Causey – 21.374 seconds

Budweiser Modified (25 laps): 1. 11-Chase Butler[4]; 2. 4-Doug Penny[1]; 3. 40-Brent Bordeaux[2]; 4. 48-Lance Grady[5]; 5. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[7]; 6. 1ST-Bret Hamilton[3]; 7. 10S-Tim Schulte[12]; 8. 88-Jay Seward[11]; 9. 21J-Curtis Mason[8]; 10. 814-Samuel Lamborgini[9]; 11. 55-Jason Sage[6]; 12. 44-Stephen Bryant[10]; 13. 36-Cory Bradley[13]

Fast Qualifier: Chase Butler – 19.741 seconds

Joe Hudson’s Collision Centers Limited Stock Car (20 laps): 1. 7-Johnny Brooks[5]; 2. 14-Ryan Hutchens[3]; 3. 01-Trent Clemans[4]; 4. 3-Bill Coada[2]; 5. 04-Brian Maxey[1]; 6. 41-Cory Bradley[9]; 7. 9-Justin Pullen[11]; 8. 21-Jacob Buie[7]; 9. 59-Jason Speelman[10]; 10. 53-Gregory Morgan[14]; 11. 25-John Hankins Jr[17]; 12. 39-Cole Johnston[15]; 13. 18-James Slough[8]; 14. 6-Zac Elliott[13]; 15. 99-Hilton Pickeral[12]; 16. 55-Raymond Harper[6]; 17. 85-WL Johnston[16]

Fast Qualifier: Raymond Harper – 22.131 seconds – NEW DIVISION TRACK RECORD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>