Jamaica, VA – Dillon Brown of Gaffney, SC, pulled out the broom at Virginia Motor Speedway, setting fast time, winning his heat, and leading thirty-nine of the 40-lap FASTRAK King of the Commonwealth at Virginia Motor Speedway for the $5000 victory. It didn’t come easy as he had to fend off Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, VA, over the last 8 laps to take the win.

“I have always thought this place owed be one, we’ve been really good here but never had the finish we wanted, or we get wrecked out somehow. I thought I gave it away there at the end and told myself you better not give this away,” commented Brown in Virginia Is For Racing Lovers victory lane.

Dillon Brown and Corey Almond led the field to green, with Brown grabbing the lead. Brown held a sizeable lead for most of the first 14 laps. On a lap 14 restart, Almond rocketed past Brown in turn 2 to take the lead on lap 15. That lead would be short-lived as Brown would get back inside for the lead on the next lap. Once out front, Brown began to pull away again. By lap 20, Brown held a full straightaway lead over Almond and Tyler Bare. On lap 22, Bare and Almond made contact in turn 2, with Bare coming out with the position and Jeremy Pilkerton sliding by for third.

Behind the two leaders, Almond and Ray Love Jr. waged a side-by-side battle for four laps for fourth. Over the next five laps, Nick Davis joined in the battle for fourth making it three wide at times. While they battled for fourth, Brown, Bare, and Pilkerton pulled away. It looked like Brown would cruise to the win, but a caution on lap 32 closed Bare up on his bumper. On the restart, Bare would get better runs off of turn 2 but could not get close enough to pass for the lead.

Brown would finally pull away by two car lengths heading to the white flag, and went on to score the $5000 victory over Tyler Bare, Jeremy Pilkerton, Ray Love, Jr., and Corey Almond.

Heat race wins went to Dillon Brown, Corey Almond, and Jacob Brown. Dillon Brown won the Pop Bit Fast qualifier award and received an extra $100.

In the Budweiser Modified 25-lap feature, Bret Hamilton of Powhatan, VA, jumped to the lead heading into turn 1 up on the high side. Hamilton led every lap of the feature, but the win didn’t come easy. On lap 5 Chase Butler of Mechanicsville, VA, used the cushion to get past Doug Penny of Vass, NC, for second and set out to catch the leader. On a lap 9 restart, Butler tried the inside of Hamilton in turn 1 but couldn’t complete the pass. Butler’s next chance came on lap 12 when he tried to complete a slide job in turn 2. After that, Hamilton kept Butler at a car-length distance all the way to the checkers, picking up the win. Rounding out the top five were Doug Penny, Rick Hulson, and Lance Grady.

In the Truckin Thunder 25-lap feature, Tim Shelton of Fredericksburg, VA, took the lead from Brett Adkins of Saluda, VA, on lap 10 and then never looked back to score his second win in a row. Rounding out the top five were Brett Adkins, Steve Causey, Adam Breeden, and Tony Breeden.

In the Collision One Limited Stock 20 lap feature Johnny Brooks of Mechanicsville, VA, took the lead on lap 2 from Corey Bradley of Hopewell, VA, and went on score his second win in a row. Rounding out the top five were Bradley, Ryan Hutchens, Trent Clemons, and Raymond Harper.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA, and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland, and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2023 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


A Feature (40 Laps) – 1. 6-Dillon Brown[1]; 2. B8-Tyler Bare[4]; 3. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[5]; 4. 08-Ray Love Jr[10]; 5. 7-Corey Almond[2]; 6. 92-Nick Davis[8]; 7. 37-Bud Stinson[12]; 8. 29H-Billy Hubbard[11]; 9. 7H-Curtis Hughes[16]; 10. 2*-Jared Powell[13]; 11. 10-Matt Ashworth[15]; 12. 51S-Garrett Donnell[20]; 13. 28-Tyler Dettor[18]; 14. 49-Austin Hubbard[6]; 15. 72-Trevor Collins[9]; 16. 24-Jacob Brown[3]; 17. 01-Matt Glanden[7]; 18. 14C-Chuck Bowie[14]; 19. 38-Nick Love[17]; 20. 45-William Baker[21]; 21. 71-Davis Lipscombe[19]

Heat 1 (8 Laps) – 1. 6-Dillon Brown[1]; 2. B8-Tyler Bare[2]; 3. 01-Matt Glanden[3]; 4. 08-Ray Love Jr[5]; 5. 2*-Jared Powell[4]; 6. 7H-Curtis Hughes[7]; 7. 71-Davis Lipscombe[6]

Heat 2 (8 Laps) – 1. 7-Corey Almond[2]; 2. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[4]; 3. 92-Nick Davis[3]; 4. 29H-Billy Hubbard[1]; 5. 14C-Chuck Bowie[6]; 6. 38-Nick Love[5]; 7. 51S-Garrett Donnell[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps) – 1. 24-Jacob Brown[1]; 2. 49-Austin Hubbard[3]; 3. 72-Trevor Collins[2]; 4. 37-Bud Stinson[6]; 5. 10-Matt Ashworth[5]; 6. 28-Tyler Dettor[4]; 7. 45-William Baker[7]

Pop Bit Fast Qualifier: Dillon Brown – 18.884 seconds

Complete Pop Bit Qualifying – 1. 6-Dillon Brown, 00:18.884[17]; 2. 29H-Billy Hubbard, 00:19.000[16]; 3. 24-Jacob Brown, 00:19.014[21]; 4. B8-Tyler Bare, 00:19.041[20]; 5. 7-Corey Almond, 00:19.072[6]; 6. 72-Trevor Collins, 00:19.138[5]; 7. 01-Matt Glanden, 00:19.178[11]; 8. 92-Nick Davis, 00:19.180[10]; 9. 49-Austin Hubbard, 00:19.286[9]; 10. 2*-Jared Powell, 00:19.302[1]; 11. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton, 00:19.405[12]; 12. 28-Tyler Dettor, 00:19.411[14]; 13. 08-Ray Love Jr, 00:19.462[15]; 14. 38-Nick Love, 00:19.501[2]; 15. 10-Matt Ashworth, 00:19.511[19]; 16. 71-Davis Lipscombe, 00:19.515[18]; 17. 14C-Chuck Bowie, 00:19.583[7]; 18. 37-Bud Stinson, 00:19.610[13]; 19. 7H-Curtis Hughes, 00:19.682[8]; 20. 51S-Garrett Donnell, 00:20.190[3]; 21. 45-William Baker, 00:21.200[4]

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps): 1. 55-Tim Shelton[4]; 2. 16-Brett Adkins[3]; 3. 9-Steve Causey[2]; 4. 01X-Adam Breeden[5]; 5. 101-Tony Breeden[7]; 6. 23-Matt Meads[1]; 7. 11-Marty Dempsey[9]; 8. 00-Hunter Wright[10]; 9. 30-Joe Millen[8]; 10. 26-Stephanie Johnston[6]

Fast Qualifier: Tim Shelton – 21.734 seconds

Budweiser Modified (25 laps): 1. 1ST-Bret Hamilton[2]; 2. 11-Chase Butler[6]; 3. 4-Doug Penny[1]; 4. 18-Rick Hulson[5]; 5. 48-Lance Grady[3]; 6. 40-Brent Bordeaux[4]; 7. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[8]; 8. 814-Samuel Lamborgini[12]; 9. 55-Jason Sage[10]; 10. 21J-Curtis Mason[9]; 11. 44-Stephen Bryant[14]; 12. 11K-Robert Kramer[11]; 13. 10S-Tim Schulte[7]; 14. 175-Ryan Huff[13]

Fast Qualifier: Chase Butler – 19.5561 seconds

Collision One Limited Stock Car (2 laps): 1. 7-Johnny Brooks[6]; 2. 41-Cory Bradley[2]; 3. 14H-Ryan Hutchens[3]; 4. 01-Trent Clemans[5]; 5. 55-Raymond Harper[4]; 6. 09-Jacob Buie[7]; 7. 10-Ernie Dettbarn[8]; 8. 25-John Hankins Jr[10]; 9. 9-Justin Pullen[9]; 10. 12-Randy Hutchens[1]; 11. 6-Zac Elliott[11]; 12. 85-WL Johnston[13]; 13. 99-Hilton Pickeral[12]; 14. (DNS) 59-Jason Speelman

Fast Qualifier: Johnny Brooks – 22.153 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>