Jamaica, VA – Chuck Bowie of Welcome, MD drove a perfect race, taking the lead on lap three from leader Vaughan Haywood and then held off Defending Champion Justin Williams to score his career first Victory Lap Pro Late Model victory at Virginia Motor Speedway. On the drop of the green flag, Bowie followed Haywood into second. Bowie got his chance to grab the lead with an inside move on Haywood in turn three on lap three. Once out front, Bowie would work traffic to perfection to keep Williams behind him in second. Several cautions were the only time Williams would have a chance to take the top spot from Bowie.

“It wasn’t as easy as it looked; when you have Justin Williams behind you, you have to be smooth. I can’t thank my wife enough for giving me an amazing car tonight; we have been close this year, and to finally get the win is amazing. Especially with the caliber of talent, we have here,” commented winner Chuck Bowie in WhosYourDriver.org victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Justin Williams, Ray Love Jr., Matt Glanden, and Jeremy Pilkerton.

In other action, Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA, made it two in a row in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman division, taking the lead from fast qualifier Kacey Gordon of Fredericksburg, VA, on lap 11 and go on to the win. In the Budweiser Modified division Josh Harris of Gloucester, VA, held off Lance Grady for the victory. And in the Collision One Limited Stock Cars, Brian Maxey of Fredericksburg, VA, grabbed the lead from Ryan Hutchens on lap ten and then went on to his second win in a row.

Jeff Solinger and Josh Harris led the Budweiser Modifieds to the green flag, with Harris leading the first lapped, followed by Brandon Galloway. Teammates Harris and Galloway would pull away from the field with Solinger, Chase Butler, defending champion Hunter McClendon, and Lance Grady, all in the battle for third. By lap 15, Grady had closed to within a couple of car lengths. On lap 16, Harris would make contact with a lapped car but kept his advantage over Grady. With 2 to go, Grady would make one last push to grab the top spot, but Harris was up to the task and went on to score the win. Rounding out the top five were Grady, Solinger, Butler, and Bret Hamilton.

Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA, has returned to the Truckin Thunder Sportsman division with a vengeance. After convincingly taking the week one win and having to wait an extra week due to a rainout, he returned and scored yet another convincing win. Lipscombe would work his way to the front by lap 8. Lipscombe went to work on Kacey Gordon for second; the two would get together on the front stretch with Gordon holding the spot. Ahead of them, leader Tyler Shipp would get out of shape out of turn 2, allowing Gordon to take the lead with Lipscombe following to second. As the two raced down the backstretch, they split a slower car with Lipscombe using the high side to take the lead. Once out front Lipscombe would stretch out his lead and go on to the win. Rounding the top five were Kacey Gordon, Tyler Shipp, Steve Causey, and Tim Shelton.

Brian Maxey took over the top spot from Ryan Hutchens on lap ten after making several attempts. Once out front, Maxey worked traffic to perfection to go on to take his second win in a row. Rounding out the top five were Hutchens, Cory Bradley, Jay Seward, and Brandon Bowler.

The speedway will take the Memorial Day Weekend off to celebrate with friends and family. The speedway will return on Saturday, June 5, and host week 4 of Dirt Series Championship Weekly Racing action featuring the Victory Lap Pro Late Models, Budweiser Modifieds, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, and Collision One Limited Stock Cars in action.

Competitor gates for Saturday, June 5, will open at 3 pm, with spectator gates opening at 5 pm. On-track activities will begin at 6:30 pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA, and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland, and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2021 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway , and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (35 Laps): 1. 14C-Chuck Bowie[1]; 2. 2W-Justin Williams[3]; 3. 08-Ray Love Jr[4]; 4. 01-Matt Glanden[8]; 5. 8-Jeremy Pilkerton[6]; 6. 29H-Vaughan Haywood[2]; 7. 2J-Larry Jackson[7]; 8. 0-Chase Burrows[11]; 9. 47-Matt Quade[5]; 10. 96-Matthew Hilebrand[15]; 11. 23-Josh Canipe[9]; 12. 09-Brad Rigdon[10]; 13. 77S-Ronnie Sissney[14]; 14. 7-Curtis Hughes[12]; 15. 38-Nicolas Love[13]; 16. (DNS) 38B-Billy Hubbard

Fast Qualifier: Ray Love Jr. – 18.5321.150 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (30 laps): 1. 71-Davis Lipscombe[5]; 2. 92-Kacey Gordon[4]; 3. 25-Tyler Shipp[2]; 4. 9-Steve Causey[3]; 5. 55-Tim Shelton[9]; 6. 10-Matt Ashworth[7]; 7. 01-Tommy Upshaw[11]; 8. 22-Michael Hayes[13]; 9. 43H-Holly Weiss[10]; 10. 92S-Todd Meredith[14]; 11. 16-Brett Adkins[12]; 12. 8-James Givens[6]; 13. B1-Robert Babb[1]; 14. 23-Matt Meads[8]; 15. (DNS) 04-Jacob Carr

Fast Qualifier: Kacey Gordon – 23.600 seconds

Budweiser Modifieds (30 laps): 1. 43-Josh Harris[2]; 2. 48-Lance Grady[6]; 3. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[1]; 4. 11-Chase Butler[3]; 5. 1ST-Bret Hamilton[8]; 6. 40-Brent Bordeaux[9]; 7. 21J-Curtis Mason[12]; 8. 75-Kelly Barricks[11]; 9. 55-Jason Sage[10]; 10. 16-David Kendall[13]; 11. 14-Samuel Lamborgini[14]; 12. 33-Hunter McClendon[5]; 13. 36G-Brandon Galloway[4]; 14. (DNS) 44-Stephen Bryant

Fast Qualifier: Brandon Galloway – 22.281 seconds

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (25 laps): 1. 04-Brian Maxey[6]; 2. 14H-Ryan Hutchens[2]; 3. 41-Cory Bradley[7]; 4. 88-Jay Seward[4]; 5. 14-Brandon Bowler[1]; 6. 9-Justin Pullen[16]; 7. 79D-Joey Dean[8]; 8. 26-Stephanie Johnston[23]; 9. 30-Zac Elliott[10]; 10. 8-James Givens[3]; 11. 3-Dylan Pullen[9]; 12. 07-Chad Champion[11]; 13. 18-John Hankins Jr[17]; 14. 22-Raymond Harper[12]; 15. 21-Jacob Buie[15]; 16. 40-Paige Vassallo[18]; 17. 4-Randy Hutchens[24]; 18. 7-Johnny Brooks[5]; 19. 13-Dale Rhodes[22]; 20. 43-Alex Butler[14]; 21. 01-Trent Clemans[13]; 22. 00-Bill Hardman Jr[21]; 23. 25-Marty Coltrain[19]; 24. 10-Ernie Dettbarn[20]

Fast Qualifier: Brian Maxey – 24.194 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>