Jamaica, VA – It only took point leader Justin Williams of Concord, VA six laps to get to the front from his sixth place starting spot, but once out front Williams set it on cruise to go on and take his fourth Victory Lap Pro Late Model win of the season.

“I can’ thank my crew enough for giving me such a good car, I just tried to stay out of trouble there at the beginning until we could get separated,” commented Williams in WhosyourDriver.org victory lane.

The start of the 30 lap feature got off to a rocky start with a big pileup on the opening green flag. Once the field finally got underway Camden Testerman took over the top and paced the field for the first five laps before Justin Williams drove around him out of turn 4 to take the lead. Once out front Williams only have to survive a bevy of cautions before collecting his fourth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Matt Quade, Camden Testerman, Jared Powell and John McClellan.

In other action Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA scored his fourth Budweiser Modified win of the season; in Truckin Thunder Sportsman action Tyler Shipp of Mechanicsville, VA scored his career first victory taking and Corey Bradley of Hopewell, VA and James Givens of Henrico, VA put on a show in Collision One Limited Stock Car action with Bradley scoring his career first win.

It looked like point leader Tim Shelton would cruise to his fifth Truckin Thunder Sportsman win in a row, but it was rookie Tyler Shipp who would craft a different story as he passed Shelton for the lead on lap 25 of the 30 lap feature to score his career first win. Steve Causey took the lead on the drop of the green and led until lap 6 win Shelton swept around him to take the lead and pull away to a sizeable lead. Shipp would slowing close the gap and on a restart on lap 21 started to apply pressure on Shelton for the lead. On lap 24 Shipp got inside Shelton coming out of two and finally pulled ahead for the lead at the line. Once out front Shipp pulled away to score his career first win. Rounding out the top five were Tim Shelton, Brett Adkins, Joe Weiss and Steve Causey.

Starting shotgun on the field, current Budweiser Modified point leader Joey Polevoy made it a mission to get to the front, picking off cars one by one and taking the lead from Lance Grady on lap 12. Once out front Polevoy would have to hold off a couple of late races challenges from Hunter McClendon to take home his sixth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Hunter McClendon, Francis Jarrelle, Tim Schulte and Mike Reynolds.

The Collision One Limited Stock 25 lap feature turned out to be the best race of the night as Corey Bradley and James Givens swapped the lead back and forth four times before Bradley would take hold for the final time. The two raced virtually side by side for the entire 25 lap distance. Bradley would face one final challenge on the final lap as Givens tried to get to his outside out of turn 2, Bradley countered and went on to score his career first win. Rounding out the top five Givens, Marty Coltrain, Chris Champion and Stephanie Johnston.

The Speedway will return to racing on Saturday August 12th and host Commonwealth Motorsports / Xtra 99.1 Night and week 11 of the Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship weekly racing action featuring the Victory Lap Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified and Collision One Limited Stock Car divisions.

Admission price for adults is only $12, seniors (60+) $10; military (active/retired w/ proper I.D.) $8, students 11 – 17 years old $6 and children 10 and under admitted free. Pit passes will be $20.

Competitor gates for Saturday August 12th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2017 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (35 Laps): 1. 2-Justin Williams, [6]; 2. 47-Matt Quade, [4]; 3. 17-Camden Testerman, [2]; 4. 2*-Jared Powell, [5]; 5. 23M-John McClellan, [12]; 6. 7A-Corey Almond, [1]; 7. 71-Davis Lipscombe, [3]; 8. 1-Dustin Ferguson, [8]; 9. 66X-Matthew Tarbox, [7]; 10. 5J-Darrell Dow, [13]; 11. 40-Brent Bordeaux, [10]; 12. 38-Nicolas Love, [11]; 13. 28-Carl Vaughan, [14]; 14. 11-James Miller, [9]

Fast Qualifier: Justin Williams – 18.427 seconds, 97.680 mph

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (30 laps): 1. 25-Tyler Shipp, [1]; 2. 55-Tim Shelton, [8]; 3. 16-Brett Adkins, [3]; 4. 43J-Joe Weiss, [7]; 5. 9-Steve Causey, [2]; 6. 1-Chad Beahr, [4]; 7. 92-Kacey Gordon, [11]; 8. 11-Chase Butler, [10]; 9. 06-Gary Wheaton III, [12]; 10. 22-Michael Hayes, [5]; 11. 01-Tommy Upshaw, [9]; 12. 8C-Bill Coada, [6]; 13. 7-Kevin Beahr, [16]; 14. 91-James Snead, [13]; 15. 80-Alan Morgan, [15]; 16. 0-Chase Burrow, [14]

Fast Qualifier: Tim Shelton – 20.491 seconds, 87.840 mph

Budweiser Modifieds (30 laps): 1. 51-Joey Polevoy, [16]; 2. 33-Hunter McClendon, [6]; 3. 01-Francis Jarelle III, [4]; 4. 10S-Tim Schulte, [7]; 5. 112-Mike Reynolds, [5]; 6. 7+7-Jeff Solinger, [9]; 7. 21C-Davey Conley, [11]; 8. 44-Stephen Bryant, [10]; 9. 99-Charlie Hubbard, [8]; 10. 57-Curtis Barricks, [13]; 11. 16J-Raymond Throckmorton, [14]; 12. 68-Adam Hoegerl, [15]; 13. 48-Lance Grady, [1]; 14. 16-David Kendall, [12]; 15. 121-Bret Hamilton, [3]; 16. 10-Mark Parks, [2]

Fast Qualifier: Hunter McClendon – 19.450 seconds, 92.540 mph

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (25 laps): 1. 41-Cory Bradley, [2]; 2. 8-James Givens, [3]; 3. 25-Marty Coltrain, [11]; 4. 32M-Chris Champion, [9]; 5. 26-Stephanie Johnston, [6]; 6. 38-Caleb Carter, [12]; 7. 88-Jay Seward, [14]; 8. 47-Christian Sherr, [13]; 9. 4-Randy Hutchens, [5]; 10. 14-Ryan Hutchens, [8]; 11. 53-Travis Hopkins, [7]; 12. 08-Chad Champion, [1]; 13. 01-Trent Clemans, [4]; 14. 09-Jacob Buie, [10]; 15. 1-Will Clarke, [15]

Fast Qualifier: 22.495 seconds, 82.020 mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>