Jamaica, VA – Justin Williams of Concord, VA returned to WhosYourDriver.org Victory Lane with a convincing win in the Victory Lap Pro Late Model divisions on MetroCast Business Services Night at Bill sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway. Williams grabbed the lead from Davis Lipscombe of Mechanicsville, VA on lap 11 and then held off a late charge by Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, VA for his third win of the season.

“It was a different kind of track tonight, I had to slow down from normal, I knew this was Tyler’s (Bare) kind of track and I saw he had made it back to second; the track tonight was more like it is going to be for the FASTRAK World Championship at the end of the year,” commented Williams in WhosYourDriver.org victory lane.

Camden Testerman and Davis Lipscombe led the field to green with Lipscombe taking the lead out of turn 2. Lipscomeb would pace the field as Justin Williams closed the gap in second. Caution would fly on lap 9 for Tyler Bare, who had a flat right rear tire and stopped in turn 4. On the restart Williams jumped to the inside Davis heading into turn 1, the two raced side by side out of turn 4 where Williams grabbed the lead at the line. Once out front Williams pulled away. A couple of late race cautions closed the field up on Williams’s bumper but Bare was unable to take advantage of either restart. Williams would go on to score his third win of the season followed by Bare, Jared Powell, Davis Lipscombe and Brent Bordeaux the balance of the top five.

In other action Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA held off Hunter McClendon of Williamsburg, VA for the Budweiser Modified win; in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman feature Tim Shelton of Fredericksburg, VA grab the lead on lap 8 and then cruised to the win and in the Collision One Limited Stock feature Ryan Hutchens of Providence Forge, VA survived being sent to the rear of the field racing his way back to the front for his third win of the season.

The Budweiser Modified 30 lap feature was action packed as Joey Polevoy and Hunter McClendon swamped the lead several times over the final 15 laps of the feature. It didn’t take Polevoy long to grab the lead as he swept the outside of Lance Grady, who led the opening circuit, for the lead. On lap 16 McClendon got inside Polevoy to take the lead at the line.

The two raced side by side with Polevoy using the high line and McClendon on the bottom with McClendon holding the lead each tie at the line. On lap Polevoy 21 Polevoy finally took back the lead at the line. McClendon tried several times over the remaining nine laps to take back to no avail as Polevoy would hold on for his fifth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were McClendon, Francis Jarelle, Lance Grady and Tim Schulte.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 30 lap feature fast qualifier and current point leader had to start eighth due to his two wins in a row. It only took 7 laps to get to the front and on lap 8 Shelton got inside Micheal Hayes for the lead. Once out front Shelton cruised to his fourth win of the season and third in a row.

Chase Butler and Michael Hayes led the field to green with Hayes taking the lead as they led the field to turn 1. Shelton methodically picked off car after car to work his way to the front. On lap 7 Shelton dove under Hayes for the lead out of turn 4. Once out front Shelton would pull away from the field. Behind the leader the action was hot and heavy all the way back to tenth. But it was all Shelton as he cruised to his fourth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Joe Weiss, Michael Hayes, Chad Beahr and Tyler Shipp.

In the Collision One Limited Stock 25 lap feature Ryan Hutchens of Providence Forge, VA grab the lead from Corey Bradley of Hopewell, VA on lap 17 and went on to grab his third win of the season.

It wasn’t easy as Hutchens was sent to the back of the field after making contact with James Givens on lap 2. It took Hutchens four laps to get to the bumper of Corey Bradley the leader. The two raced side by side for nearly 13 laps with Bradley able to hold Hutchens off at each attempt. On lap 16 Hutchens got to the outside of Bradley in turn three and was able to grab the lead at the line. One out front Hutchens maintained a comfortable lead and went on to score the victory followed by Bradley, Ernie Dettbarn, James Givens and Randy Hutchens rounding out the top five.

The Speedway will return to racing on Saturday July 29th and host week 9 of the Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship weekly racing action featuring the Victory Lap Pro Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modified and Collision One Limited Stock Car divisions.

Admission price for adults is only $12, seniors (60+) $10; military (active/retired w/ proper I.D.) $8, students 11 – 17 years old $6 and children 10 and under admitted free. Pit passes will be $20.

Competitor gates for Saturday July 15th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2017 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (35 Laps): 1. 2-Justin Williams, [5]; 2. 30-Tyler Bare, [6]; 3. 47-Matt Quade, [14]; 4. 2*-Jared Powell, [4]; 5. 71-Davis Lipscombe, [2]; 6. 40-Brent Bordeaux, [7]; 7. 66X-Matthew Tarbox, [8]; 8. 17-Camden Testerman, [1]; 9. 5J-Darrell Dowell, [9]; 10. 7W-Ray Spiggle III, [13]; 11. 38-Nicolas Love, [12]; 12. 28-Carl Vaughan, [11]; 13. 16-Brett Adkins, [10]; 14. 7A-Corey Almond, [3]; – RESULTS NOT OFFICIAL PENDING REVIEW

Fast Qualifier: Tyler Bare – 18.937 seconds, 95.05 mph

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (30 laps): 1. 55-Tim Shelton, [8]; 2. 43J-Joe Weiss, [5]; 3. 22-Michael Hayes, [2]; 4. 1-Chad Beahr, [4]; 5. 25-Tyler Shipp, [7]; 6. 11-Chase Butler, [1]; 7. 0-Chase Burrow, [13]; 8. 01-Tommy Upshaw, [10]; 9. 9-Steve Causey, [6]; 10. 16-Brett Adkins, [3]; 11. 06-Gary Wheaton III, [12]; 12. 71-Savannah Nickens, [16]; 13. 14-Sean Owens, [11]; 14. 12-Rusty Steele, [17]; 15. 92-Kacey Gordon, [15]; 16. 80-Alan Morgan, [18]; 17. 21J-Curtis Mason, [14]; 18. 91-James Snead, [9]

Fast Qualifier: Tim Shelton – 21.006 seconds, 85.69 mph

Budweiser Modifieds (30 laps): 1. 51-Joey Polevoy, [2]; 2. 33-Hunter McClendon, [3]; 3. 01-Francis Jarelle III, [5]; 4. 48-Lance Grady, [1]; 5. 10S-Tim Schulte, [6]; 6. 21C-Davey Conley, [9]; 7. 7+7-Jeff Solinger, [8]; 8. 44-Stephen Bryant, [7]; 9. 99-Charlie Hubbard, [10]; 10. 68-Adam Hoegerl, [11]; 11. 10-Mark Parks, [4]; 12. 16-David Kendall, [12]; 13. 16J-Raymond Throckmorton, [13]

Fast Qualifier: Mark Parks – 19.848 seconds, 90.69 mph

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (25 laps): 1. 14-Ryan Hutchens, [5]; 2. 41-Cory Bradley, [1]; 3. 10-Ernie Dettbarn, [2]; 4. 8-James Givens, [6]; 5. 4-Randy Hutchens, [4]; 6. 25-Marty Coltrain, [7]; 7. 01-Trent Clemans, [10]; 8. 38-Caleb Carter, [11]; 9. 08-Chad Champion, [3]; 10. 14B-Brandon Bowler, [9]; (DNS) 26-Stephanie Stallings, ; (DNS) 32M-Chris Champion, ; (DNS) 59-Robbie Hutchens,

Fast Qualifier: James Givens – 23.145 seconds, 77.77 mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>