082716 story photo 600Jamaica, VA – Defending Champion Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, VA scored his first Victory Lap Pro Late Model win of the season holding off current point leader Justin Williams in a thrilling feature that had the big crowd on their feet during Northern Neck Chevrolet / Collision One Night at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway. Bare took over the lead on lap 6 from Corey Almond after a two lap side-by-side battle then held off several challenges from Williams to score the victory.

“We have been working very hard to get our first win here this year, I knew if I ran the top it would be hard for Justin (Williams) to pass me. I have to thank my dad for all his support and help,” commented Bare in victory lane.

Corey Almond jumped to the lead on the drop of the green flag with the field going three wide behind him. On lap 3 Bare took over second with a pass on Mark Parks. On lap 5, Bare dove under Almond in turn 3 to challenge for the lead. The two raced side-by-side for the next two laps before Bare finally grab the lead on 7 with Williams in tow.

By lap 15 the two drivers began working lapped traffic with Williams trying both high and low to get around Bare. Each time Bare was up for the challenge. On a lap 26 restart Williams pushed Bare down into turn 1 but Bare held on to the lead. A big crash on lap 28 that brought out a red flag set up a two lap showdown for the win. On the final restart Bare got a great jump on the field as Williams jumped the cushion in turn 2 allowing Bare to pull away for his first win. Rounding out the top five were Williams, Mark Parks, Stephen Childress and Davis Lipscombe.

In other action Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA scored his fourth Budweiser Modified win of the season. In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman Roger Jamerson of Mechanicsville, VA led flag to flag for his third win of the season and in the Collision One Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature James Givens of Henrico, VA held off Ryan Hutchens to score his first victory of the season.

In the Budweiser Modified 25 lap feature point leader Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA worked his way from his eighth place starting position and swung around the outside Francis Jarrelle III on lap 7 to take over the lead and go on to score his fourth win of the season and fourth in a row. Jarrelle III led the first seven laps with Polevoy and Brett Hamilton getting by on lap seven in turn 1. Once out front Polevoy pulled away by 5 car lengths over Hamilton. It was a distance he would keep to the checkers. Rounding out the top five were Hamilton, Jarrelle, Jeff Solinger and Tim Schulte.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature Roger Jamerson of Mechanicsville, VA led the field to green taking the lead on the drop of the green flag. After surviving a lap six challenge for the lead from Tim Shelton, Jamerson went on to score his third win of the season. On lap six Shelton dove under Jamerson heading into turn 1 only to get blocked by a lapped car bottling the field and sending Shelton for a spin. Shelton tried to get back to the front but a four lap battle with Joe Weiss that saw the two trade slide jobs on each of the four laps. That allowed Jamerson to pull away with Michael Hayes following in second. Rounding out the top five were Hayes, Shelton, Weiss and Tommy Upshaw.

Chad Champion and Raymond Harper led the Collision One Limited Stock Car division to green with Champion grabbing the lead. Caution quickly came out on the following lap for a wreck on the backstretch. On the restart James Givens dove under Champion for the lead. On lap 12 Champion and Ryan Hutchens began swapping slide jobs for the lead. Hutchens was scored the leader on lap 13 with Givens muscling the lead back from Hutchens on the next circuit. Givens would then pull away to score his first win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Hutchens, Champion, Cory Bradley and Marty Coltrain.

The speedway will return to racing on Saturday September 3rd for Aaron’s / Pepsi Championship Night. The night will feature the final week of the Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship season featuring the Victory Lap Late Models, Budweiser Modifieds, Truckin Thunder Sportsman and Collision One Limited Stock Cars in action. Champions in all four divisions will be crowned.

Competitor gates for Saturday September 3rd will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2016 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (30 Laps):
A-Main – 1. 30-Tyler Bare[2] ; 2. 2-Justin Williams[8] ; 3. 47-Mark Parks[3] ; 4. 03-Stephen Childress[4] ; 5. 71-Davis Lipscombe[12] ; 6. 09-Brad Rigdon[9] ; 7. 17-Camden Testerman[7] ; 8. 40-Brent Bordeaux[10] ; 9. 7A-Corey Almond[1] ; 10. 55-Jimmy Duncan[6] ; 11. 36-Cory Dawson[5] ; 12. 28-Carl Vaughan[11] ; 13. 47Q-Matt Quade[13]

Fast Qualifier: Justin Williams – 18.154 seconds; 99.147

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps):
A-Main – 1. 8-Roger Jamerson[1] ; 2. 22-Michael Hayes[6] ; 3. 55-Tim Shelton[4] ; 4. 43J-Joe Weiss[3] ; 5. 01-Tommy Upshaw[11] ; 6. 11-Chase Butler[5] ; 7. 12-Russell Steele[13] ; 8. 14-Sean Owens[8] ; 9. 92-Kacey Gordon[12] ; 10. 00-Jimmy Priddy[10] ; 11. 91-Kevin Curtis[9] ; 12. 9-Steve Causey[2] ; 13. 7c-Will Clark[14] ; 14. 71-Savannah Nichols[15] ; 15. 10-Matt Ashworth[7]

Fast Qualifier: Tim Shelton – 21.091 seconds; 85.344 mph

Budweiser Modifieds (25 laps):
A-Main – 1. 51-Joey Polevoy[8] ; 2. 1st-Bret Hamilton[3] ; 3. 01-Francis Jarrelle III[2] ; 4. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[6] ; 5. 10s-Tim Schulte[5] ; 6. 48-Lance Grady[9] ; 7. 99-Charlie Hubbard[1] ; 8. 44-Steve Bryant[10] ; 9. 21c-Davey Conley[7] ; 10. 68-Adam Hoegerl[11] ; 11. 39-Brian Dobie[4]

Fast Qualifier: Joey Polevoy – 19.625 seconds; 91.720 mph

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (20 laps):

A-Main – 1. 8-James Givens[5] ; 2. 14-Ryan Hutchens[8] ; 3. 08-Chad Champion[1] ; 4. 41-Cory Bradley[7] ; 5. 25-Marty Coltrain[4] ; 6. 40-Brian Bradley[10] ; 7. 38-Caleb Carter[16] ; 8. 4-Randy Hutchens[15] ; 9. 18-John Hankins Jr.[13] ; 10. 14C-Bill Coada[11] ; 11. 00-William Hardman Jr.[14] ; 12. 01-Trent Clemans[17] ; 13. 26-Stephanie Stallings[12] ; 14. 22-Raymond Harper[2] ; 15. 20-James Bunn[9] ; 16. 09-Jacob Buie[6] ; 17. 32M-Chris Champion[3] ; 18. 50-Blair Sibley[18]

Fast Qualifier: James Givens – 22.649 seconds; 79.474 mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>