081316 weekly results 950x450Jamaica, VA – The action on the track was as hot as the temperatures outside on XTRA 99.1 | Metrocast Business Services Night at Virginia Motor Speedway. Justin Williams of Concord, VA used a daring pass on the outside of Corey Almond on lap 9 to take the lead and go on to score his third Victory Lap Pro Late Model win of the season and second in a row.

Almond and Tyler Bare waged a side by side battle for the top spot for the first six laps of the race with Almond being score the leader by inches each time across the line. On lap 7 Bare bobbled just enough in turn 2 to let Williams drive around his outside for second. Once in second Williams went to work of Almond for the lead and on lap nine heading into turn 1 Williams rocketed around the outside of Almond to take the lead out of turn 2.

Once out front Williams worked lapped traffic to perfection and survived several restarts to pick up his third win of the season.

“The car was super-fast tonight and I could take it anywhere I needed it to go; I have to thank my crew for giving me success and amazing ride,” commented Williams in victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Corey Almond, Davis Lipscombe, Cody Dawson and David Williams.

In other action Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA took over the lead after a very tough door banging battle with Brian Maxey of King George, VA, once out front Polevoy would go on to score his third Budweiser Modified win of the season. Roger Jamerson of Mechanicsville, VA took the lead on lap 10 and then held off Brett Adkins of Gloucester, VA for the Truckin Thunder Sportsman victory; and in the Collision One Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature defending Champion and current point leader Ryan Hutchens of Providence Forge, VA took the lead on lap 10 to score his fourth win of the season.

In the Budweiser Modified 25 feature Brian Maxey of King George, VA made it three wide on the start from his fifth place starting position to take the lead in the opening corner. It looked as if he would run away from the field but a caution on lap 11 allowed Joey Polevoy of Powhatan, VA to close the gap for the restart. Once back under racing the two went at each other for the top spot. On lap 20 Maxey made a small mistake in turn two allowing Polevoy to get to his outside. In turn 3 Polevoy dove under Maxey and put a slide job on him in turn 4 for the lead. The two beat and banged to the line with Maxey spinning and bringing out the caution. On the restart Polevoy pulled away and went on to score his third win of the season and third in a row. Rounding out the top five were Brian Dobie, Jeff Solinger, Francis Jarrelle III and Tim Schulte.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature Matt Ashworth and Chad Beahr led the field to green with Ashworth grabbing the top spot with Roger Jamerson in close pursuit. On lap 9 Jamerson finally got under Ashworth to take over the top spot with Brett Adkins flowing to second. Adkins made several attempts to get by Jamerson for the lead but each time the leader was up to the task. Jamerson would hold off Adkins by .317 seconds to score the win. Rounding out the top five were Steve Causey, Michael Hayes and tommy Upshaw.

In the Collision One Limited Stock 20 lap feature Brian Bradley took the top spot on the drop of the green flag to take the lead with son Corey Bradley, Chris Champion and defending Champion Ryan Hutchens in tow. With Bradley laeding the battle was for second with Hutchens finally securing the spot on lap 8. On the next circuit Hutchens used the outside to get around Bradley and take over the lead. Once out front Hutchens kept a two car length cushion for the remainder of the race to go on a score his fourth win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Brian Bradley, Chris Champion, John Hankins Jr. and Corey Bradley.

The speedway will take next Saturday August 20th off and return to racing on Saturday August 27th for Northern Neck Chevrolet / Collision One Night benefiting FeedMore and the Northern Neck Food Bank. Receive a FREE general admission ticket for every five (5) non-perishable food items donated. Help us stamp out hunger in our community. The night will feature week thirteen of the Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship season featuring the Victory Lap Late Models, Budweiser Modifieds, Truckin Thunder Sportsman and Collision One Limited Stock Cars in action.

Competitor gates for Saturday August 27th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2014 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (30 Laps):
A-Main 1 – 1. 2-Justin Williams[4] ; 2. 7A-Corey Almond[2] ; 3. 71-Davis Lipscombe[5] ; 4. 36-Cody Dawson[6] ; 5. 45-David Williams[13] ; 6. 03-Stephen Childress[10] ; 7. 47-Mark Parks[3] ; 8. 66x-Matt Tarbox[11] ; 9. 30x-Darren Alvey[9] ; 10. 30-Tyler Bare[1] ; 11. 40-Brent Bordeaux[15] ; 12. 09-Brad Rigdon[14] ; 13. 14C-Chuck Bowie[18] ; 14. 28-Carl Vaughan[17] ; 15. 17-Camden Testerman[12] ; 16. 29-Billy Hubbard[8] ; 17. 55-Jimmy Duncan[7] ; 18. 91s-Mike Gignac[19] ; 19. 40x-Matt Stambaugh[16] ; 20. 12-Ryan Adams[20]

Fast Qualifier: Justin Williams – 18.219 seconds; 98.798 mph

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps):
A-Main 1 – 1. 8-Roger Jamerson[3] ; 2. 16A-Brett Adkins[5] ; 3. 9-Steve Causey[7] ; 4. 22-Michael Hayes[10] ; 5. 01-Tommy Upshaw[9] ; 6. 00-Jimmy Priddy[11] ; 7. 14-Sean Owens[8] ; 8. 55-Tim Shelton[6] ; 9. 12-Russell Steele[14] ; 10. 7c-Will Clark[15] ; 11. 1-Chad Beahr[2] ; 12. 11-Chase Butler[13] ; 13. 10-Matt Ashworth[1] ; 14. 43J-Joe Weiss[4] ; 15. 7-Kevin Beahr[12]

Fast Qualifier: Tim Shelton – 21.184 seconds; 84.970 mph

Budweiser Modifieds (25 laps):
A-Main 1 – 1. 51-Joey Polevoy[8] ; 2. 39-Brian Dobie[4] ; 3. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[2] ; 4. 01-Francis Jarrelle III[3] ; 5. 10s-Tim Schulte[5] ; 6. 44-Steve Bryant[7] ; 7. 99-Charlie Hubbard[1] ; 8. 68-Adam Hoegerl[11] ; 9. 18J-Jeremy Biggers[10] ; 10. 04-Brian Maxey[6] ; 11. 21c-Davey Conley[9]

Fast Qualifier: Brian Maxey – 19.202 seconds; 93.740 mph.

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (20 laps):
A-Main 1 – 1. 14-Ryan Hutchens[6] ; 2. 40-Brian Bradley[2] ; 3. 32M-Chris Champion[4] ; 4. 18-John Hankins Jr.[11] ; 5. 41-Cory Bradley[1] ; 6. 08-Chad Champion[7] ; 7. 26-Stephanie Stallings[16] ; 8. 4-Randy Hutchens[13] ; 9. 38-Caleb Carter[15] ; 10. 8-James Givens[5] ; 11. 00-William Hardman Jr.[20] ; 12. 10-Ernie Dettbarn[9] ; 13. 50-Blair Sibley[12] ; 14. 25-Marty Coltrain[8] ; 15. 22-Raymond Harper[21] ; 16. 28-Ed Pope[3] ; 17. 03-Shawn Otey[10] ; 18. 01-Trent Clemans[19] ; 19. 14C-Bill Coada[18] ; 20. 39-Cole Johnston[22] ; 21. 09-Jacob Buie[17] ; 22. 20-James Bunn[14]

Fast Qualifier: Ryan Hutchens – 22.715 seconds; 79.243 mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>