061116 winner 950x450Jamaica, VA – After a very wet spring Mother Nature finally shined brightly on Virginia Motor Speedway with great weather for the rescheduled Truckin Thunder / Northern Neck Scout Night. The massive crowd was treated to some phenomenal racing that saw two new winners and two drivers take home back to back wins. Three-time Victory Lap Late Model Champion Justin Williams reluctantly moved to the Victory Lap Pro Late Model division after the division he dominated was dropped from the weekly racing schedule, but if his dominating win on Truckin Thunder / Northern Neck Chevrolet Scout Night is any indication to his future in the division, it is surely bright. Williams battled side by side with Jimmy Duncan at the drop of the green flag taking the lead out of turn 4 to lead the opening circuit. Williams would lead flag to flag for his career first Pro Late Model victory.

“It feels great to get my first win in the Pro Late Model division, the car and track both were awesome tonight,” commented Williams in victory lane.

In other action Brian Maxey of King George, VA took the lead on lap 12 and never looked back for his second win in a row and of the season in the Budweiser Modified 25 lap feature; in the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature Brett Adkins of Gloucester, VA picked up the win in a cautioned filled feature; and in the Collision One Limited Stock division Ryan Hutchens of Providence Forge, VA grab the lead on lap 11 and went on to grab his second win of the season.

Jimmy Duncan and Justin Williams led the field to green with Williams grabbing the lead off turn 4 and leading the opening circuit. Williams, Duncan and Corey Almond pulled away from the field as Cody Dawson, Mark Parks and Stephen Childress battled for fourth. Several cautions closed the field on Williams’ bumper, but that was as close as anyone would get to him on the track. Making the biggest move of the race was Mark Parks coming from fourteenth to battle for second in the closing laps. No one had anything for Williams as he led flag to flag for the victory. Rounding out the top five were Jimmy Duncan, Marks Parks, defending champion Tyler Bare came from the rear after pitting and Corey Almond.

In the Budweiser Modified 25 lap feature James Sparks and Joey Polevoy led the field to green and then waged a side by side battle for the first 10 laps when Brian Maxey joined the battle for the top spot. On lap 12 Maxey rocketed around the outside of Sparks out of turn 2 to take over the top spot. Once out front Maxey and went on to score his second win of the season. Rounding out the top five were Joey Polevoy, Jeff Solinger, James Sparks and Stephen Bryant.

Rookie Chase Butler and defending champion Chad Beahr led the 18 car field to green with Beahr grabbing the lead as the field exited turn 2. Behind Beahr the race went 3-wide between Butler, Brett Adkins and Matt Ashworth. Four cautions on all on lap 5 slowed the feature and closed the field on Beahr’s bumper. Once the field finally got underway Adkins got under Beahr out of turn 4 to take the lead. Once out front Adkins distanced himself from the field. A late caution closed the field on Adkins bumper for the final restart. On the restart Adkins pulled away for the win with Ashworth taking second coming to the checkers. Rounding out the top five were Joe Weiss, Chad Beahr and Steve Causey.

In the Collision One Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature Cory Bradley and Chad Champion led the field to green with Champion leading the first circuit. Behind him the race for second included 6 competitors. James Givens grab the lead on lap 5 but gave the lead back to Champion with mechanical issues on lap 9. On lap 11 defending champion Ryan Hutchens grab the lead out of turn 4 while the battle for second continued to be hotly contested. Hutchens would go on to grab his second win of the season followed by Corey Bradley, Brian Bradley, Chad Champion and John Hankins Jr.

The speedway will take next Saturday June 18th off to celebrate graduations and for Father’s Day weekend and return to racing on Saturday June 25th for week seven of the Aaron’s Dirt Series Championship season featuring the Victory Lap Late Models, Budweiser Modifieds, Truckin Thunder Sportsman and Collision One Limited Stock Cars in action.

Competitor gates for Saturday June 25th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to www.vamotorspeedway.com to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2014 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at www.facebook.com/VaMotorSpeedway and on www.youtube.com/VaMotorSpeedway.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Victory Lap Pro Late Models (30 Laps):
A-Main (30 Laps) – 1. 2-Justin Williams[2] ; 2. 55-Jimmy Duncan[1] ; 3. 47-Mark Parks[14] ; 4. 30-Tyler Bare[4] ; 5. 7A-Corey Almond[3] ; 6. 100-Mike Warton[8] ; 7. 36-Cory Dawson[7] ; 8. 29-Billy Hubbard[9] ; 9. 03-Stephen Childress[5] ; 10. 40-Brent Bordeaux[11] ; 11. 16A-Brett Adkins[13] ; 12. 40x-Matt Stambaugh[6] ; 13. 71-Davis Lipscombe[10] ; 14. 17-Camden Testerman[15] ; 15. 5J-Darrell Dow[17] ; 16. 09-Brad Rigdon[12] ; 17. 28V-Carl Vaughan[16]

Fast Qualifier: Tyler Bare – 19.012 seconds

Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps):
A-Main – 1. 16A-Brett Adkins[6] ; 2. 10-Matt Ashworth[3] ; 3. 43J-Joe Weiss[5] ; 4. 1-Chad Beahr[2] ; 5. 9-Steve Causey[12] ; 6. 71-John Nickens[9] ; 7. 12-Russell Steele[16] ; 8. 98-Troy Doggett[8] ; 9. 8-Roger Jamerson[4] ; 10. 92-Kacey Gordon[10] ; 11. 21-Brandon Sandridge[11] ; 12. 91-Kevin Curtis[15] ; 13. 01-Tommy Upshaw[7] ; 14. 7-Kevin Beahr[13] ; 15. 7c-Will Clark[17] ; 16. 11-Chase Butler[1] ; 17. 14-Sean Owens[18] ; 18. 00-Jimmy Priddy[14]

Fast Qualifier: Brett Adkins – 21.612 seconds

Budweiser Modifieds (25 laps):
A-Main – 1. 04-Brian Maxey[3] ; 2. 51-Joey Polevoy[4] ; 3. 7+7-Jeff Solinger[5] ; 4. 26x-James Sparks[1]; 5. 44-Steve Bryant[8] ; 6. 21c-Davey Conley[9] ; 7. 68-Adam Hoegerl[10] ; 8. 99-Charlie Hubbard[2] ; 9. 01-Francis Jarrelle III[6] ; 10. 3-William Mongold[7] ; 11. 33-Hunter McClendon[11]

Fast Qualifier: Joey Polevoy – 19.947 seconds

Collision One Limited Stock Cars (20 laps):
A-Main – 1. 14-Ryan Hutchens[6] ; 2. 41-Cory Bradley[1] ; 3. 40-Brian Bradley[3] ; 4. 08-Chad Champion[2] ; 5. 18-John Hankins Jr.[8] ; 6. 25-Marty Coltrain[16] ; 7. 50-Blair Sibley[12] ; 8. 26-Stephanie Stallings[20] ; 9. 14B-Brandon Bowler[7] ; 10. 4-Randy Hutchens[15] ; 11. 20-James Bunn[9] ; 12. 10-Ernie Dettbarn[11] ; 13. 01-Trent Clemons[18] ; 14. 38-Steven Carter[14] ; 15. 15-Carl New Jr.[21] ; 16. 31-Ben Lowry[4] ; 17. 8-James Givens[5] ; 18. 28-Daniel Davis[19] ; 19. 32M-Chris Champion[10] ; 20. 23-David Bowler[13] ; 21. 34-Gene Brinson[17] ; 22. 18N-Josh New[22] ; 23. 39-Cole Johnston[23]

Fast Qualifier: Ryan Hutchens – 23.199 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>