arthur franklin 600Jamaica, VA – The last six laps of the 12th Annual FASTRAK World Championship presented by James River Equipment was worth the price of admission alone. Home town favorite Walker Arthur of Forest, VA held off 2013 World Champion and Super Late Model standout Dennis “Rambo” Franklin of Gaffney, SC for the $15,000 victory and the title of World Champion. Arthur became the twelfth different winner of the event in its twelve year history. The win was a career best effort for Arthur.

“I hated to cut Rambo off; on that last restart I heard him digging down there so I had to steal that line or he was going to beat me coming to the white flag. I hated to do it but I believe he would have done it to me; I’m not sure but I think he would have,” commented and excited and laughing Arthur in victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Franklin, Matt Long, 2014 Champion Tim Dohm and Dillon Brown.

Walker Arthur and Mark Parks led the 24 car field to green with Parks take the lead out of turn 4. Ove the next four laps Arthur tried high and low to get by Parks, each time Parks slammed the door to hold on to the lead. On Lap five the battle for second went three wide in turns 1 and 2 with Arthur rocketing around to the outside of Parks and Kenny Compton, Jr to briefly take the lead. As the two drove into turn 4 Compton slid under Arthur to grab the lead at the line. On lap 11 the races first caution flew for a slowing Jensen Ford in turn 2.

On the double file restart Arthur swept out of turn 2 with the lead and began to pull away. On lap 21 Dennis Franklin got by Compton for second and caught Arthur in traffic just as caution flew for Daniel Baggerly with a mechanical failure in turn 2. The car making a move to the front and maybe the fastest car on the track other than Arthur was Matt Long who had worked his way to third from a eighth starting position.

By lap 40 Arthur had worked his lead out to a 4-car length advantage over Franklin and Long. Behind them Tim Dohm and Tyler Bare battled for fourth. With ten to go Arthur held a six car-length advantage over Franklin. With the laps winding down Franklin worked every groove on the track to try and close on the leader. On lap 51 Arthur began to run into slower traffic allowing Franklin and Long to close on his bumper.

On lap 54, caution would fly first for a spin by night one winner Corey Gordon in turn 4 and then on the restart it flew one more time when Rick Williams had an engine expire on the front stretch. On the races final restart Franklin jumped to the inside of Arthur heading into three. The two raced side by side back to the line for the next four laps with Arthur holding the lead by inches. With the crowd at its feet Arthur and Franklin dove back into turn three door to door. Heading into turn 4 Arthur cut off Franklin’s line coming out of turn 4 to the white. The move was just enough to keep Franklin on his rear quarter panel and go on to take the win by ,484 seconds.

Rounding out the top ten were Franklin, Matt Long, 2014 Champion Tim Dohm, Dillon Brown, Tyler Bare, Ron Parker, Mark Parks, TJ Salango and Ryan Montgomery.

Heat race winners were Walker Arthur, Mark Parks, Dennis Franklin and Kenny Compton Jr.

B-Main winners were Aaron Barley and Corey Gordon.

In the 1st Annual Virginia State Quarterback Challenge Cheyton Pine of Lafayette High School won his school a $1000 scholarship with a throw of 164’-5”.

The speedway will now switch gears and host the 11th Annual Down and Dirty Run-A-Muck Mud Bog and Mud sling presented by James River Equipment and Commonwealth Motorsports on Saturday October 10th. Information on the event can be found at

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

Race fans can go to to view the complete schedule Virginia Motor Speedway’s 2014 season, find detailed event information, get the latest news, and get complete ticket and camping information. In addition, fans can get social with Virginia Motor Speedway by following @vamotorspeedway on Twitter, clicking “Like” at and on

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


Fastrak World Championship (60 Laps): 1. 87-Walker Arthur[1] ; 2. 2F-Dennis Franklin[3] ; 3. 25-Matt Long[8] ; 4. A1-Tim Dohm[6] ; 5. 6-Dillon Brown[22] ; 6. 30-Tyler Bare[12] ; 7. 8-Ron Parker[13] ; 8. 7P-Mark Parks[2] ; 9. 18-TJ Salango[10] ; 10. 12M-Ryan Montgomery[16] ; 11. 24S-Jimmy Schiltz[9] ; 12. 12U-Brandon Umberger[15] ; 13. 24N-Matthew Nance[5] ; 14. 28-Aaron Barley[17] ; 15. 71-Davis Lipscombe[24] ; 16. 84-Kyle Lukon[21] ; 17. 12W-Rick Williams[20] ; 18. 23-Corey Gordon[18] ; 19. 210-Kenny Compton Jr.[4] ; 20. 16-Daniel Baggerly[7] ; 21. 2*-Jared Powell[11] ; 22. 8H-Daniel Hill[19] ; 23. 83-Jensen Ford[14] ; 24. 11-David Smith[23]

Heat 1 (8 laps – Top 4 Transfer): 1. 87-Walker Arthur[2] ; 2. 24N-Matthew Nance[1] ; 3. 24S-Jimmy Schiltz[3] ; 4. 8-Ron Parker[4] ; 5. 8H-Daniel Hill[6] ; 6. 84-Kyle Lukon[8] ; 7. 99T-Teddy Tate[10] ; 8. 11-David Smith[7] ; 9. 16A-Brett Adkins[11] ; 10. 77-Joel Prosser[5] ; 11. 99S-Rick Solari[9]

Heat 2 (8 laps – Top 4 Transfer): 1. 7P-Mark Parks[2] ; 2. A1-Tim Dohm[1] ; 3. 18-TJ Salango[4] ; 4. 83-Jensen Ford[3] ; 5. 28-Aaron Barley[5] ; 6. 21-Billy Beachler[6] ; 7. 7-Corey Almond[8] ; 8. 1-Terry Cregger[10] ; 9. 55-Jimmy Duncan[9] ; 10. 23M-Jimmy McNamara[7]

Heat 3 (8 laps – Top 4 Transfer): 1. 2F-Dennis Franklin[1] ; 2. 16-Daniel Baggerly[2] ; 3. 2*-Jared Powell[8] ; 4. 12U-Brandon Umberger[3] ; 5. 09-Brad Rigdon[7] ; 6. 42-Cla Knight[4] ; 7. 39-Henry Hornsby III[6] ; 8. 12W-Rick Williams[5] ; 9. 14T-Tyler Stutler[9] ; 10. 44-Wes Branner[10] ; 11. 28V-Carl Vaughan[11]

Heat 4 (8 laps – Top 4 Transfer): 1. 210-Kenny Compton Jr.[2] ; 2. 25-Matt Long[1] ; 3. 30-Tyler Bare[3] ; 4. 12M-Ryan Montgomery[6] ; 5. 23-Corey Gordon[5] ; 6. 71-Davis Lipscombe[7] ; 7. 00-Booper Bare[4] ; 8. 6-Dillon Brown[8] ; 9. 41-Joe Cox[9] ; 10. 83A-Tom Adams[10] ; 11. 2-Michael Bland[11]

B-Main 1 (12 laps – Top 4 Transfer): 1. 28-Aaron Barley[2] ; 2. 8H-Daniel Hill[1] ; 3. 84-Kyle Lukon[3] ; 4. 11-David Smith[7] ; 5. 21-Billy Beachler[4] ; 6. 7-Corey Almond[6] ; 7. 77-Joel Prosser[11] ; 8. 1-Terry Cregger[8] ; 9. 99T-Teddy Tate[5] ; 10. 55-Jimmy Duncan[10] ; 11. 16A-Brett Adkins[9] ; 12. 23M-Jimmy McNamara[12] ; 13. 99S-Rick Solari[13]

B-Main 1 (12 laps – Top 4 Transfer): 1. 23-Corey Gordon[2] ; 2. 12W-Rick Williams[7] ; 3. 6-Dillon Brown[8] ; 4. 71-Davis Lipscombe[4] ; 5. 42-Cla Knight[3] ; 6. 09-Brad Rigdon[1] ; 7. 41-Joe Cox[10] ; 8. 83A-Tom Adams[12] ; 9. 44-Wes Branner[11] ; 10. 14T-Tyler Stutler[9] ; 11. 39-Henry Hornsby III[5] ; 12. 00-Booper Bare[6] ; 13. 28V-Carl Vaughan[13] ; 14. 2-Michael Bland[14]

Group 1 Fast Qualifier: Matthew Nance – 18.787 seconds (Overall Fast Time)
Group 2 Fast Qualifier: Tim Dohm – 19.186 seconds
Group 3 Fast Qualifier: Dennis “Rambo” Franklin – 18.895 seconds
Group 4 Fast Qualifier: Matt Long – 18.814 seconds

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>