Jamaica, VA (Lucas Story by James Essex) – Steve Shaver of Vienna, WV and Steve Francis of Ashland, KY will start on the front row of the 33rd Annual USA 100 on Saturday Night at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway. The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event will pay $20,000 to win.

Shaver and Francis each captured their 25-lap qualifying heat races on Friday Night. Jared Landers of Batesville, AR and Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, MD will make-up row number two tomorrow evening.

Shaver in the K&L Rumley Enterprises, Rocket Chassis Chevrolet took the lead at the start of the first 25-lapper. The caution flew with one lap complete when LOLMDS point’s leader, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN spun in turn number two. Chris Madden of Gaffney, SC challenged Shaver for most of the race until a caution with three laps to go cost Madden a runner-up finish. Landers was able to outgun Madden on the restart as he stayed close to Shaver until the checkers flew.

Madden came home third, followed by Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA; Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL; Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN; Owens; and Kenny Moreland of Waldorf, MD were the final drivers to transfer to tomorrow night’s 50-lap main event from qualifying heat number one.

Francis in the Valvoline, Barry Wright Race Cars Chevy stormed to the lead at the start of the second 25-lap qualifier. Lathroum stayed within striking distance of Francis early on in the race, but Francis clearly had the best car on the track as he pulled away to more than a straightaway lead in the late stages of the qualifier. Lathroum was able to hold off the trio of Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, GA; John Blankenship of Williamson, WV; and Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN to earn the fourth starting spot in tomorrow’s USA 100.

The final three drivers to make it out of qualifying heat number two were Austin Hubbard of Seaford, DE; Jerry Bard of Shippensburg, PA; and Jeremy Miler of Gettysburg, PA.

In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the Red Buck Fast Time amongst the 25 entrants, with a lap of 17.456 seconds. David Williams set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 17.673 seconds. Steve Shaver and Steve Francis won their respective Heat Races. and won their respective B-Mains.

Tomorrow Night, the USA 100 at Virginia Motor Speedway will continue for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. Action on the track will kick off at 6:30PM with Hot Laps, B-Main, and the 50-Lap main event, worth $20,000-to-win.

In Budweiser Modified action Russell Erwin took out the broom and swept the Modified Madness 25 during night one of the USA 100 weekend. Erwin had to hold off a couple of challenges but led flag to flag to get the $1500 win. Both Jimmy Duncan and Brian Dobie tried to get inside Erwin for the leader on separate occasions but neither could make the pass.

The car on the move at the end of the feature was eleventh starting Bret Hamilton who worked his way to third with four laps to go but could not mount a charge to get any closer. Erwin would cruise to the checkers with Brian Dobie, Bret Hamilton, Jimmy Duncan and Brandon Galloway rounding out the top five.

Heat race wins went to Eric Erwin, Jimmy Duncan and Joe Cox.

The speedway will once again provided fans with a top-flight show at very favorable ticket prices. Adults two-day tickets are $35.00 while seniors (60+) are $28.00; military (active and retired) are $25; students 7-17 are $15.00 and children Under 6 are FREE. Two-day Pit passes will be $50.00.

The competitor gates open at 3:00 p.m. while the spectator gates swing open at 4pm. On track action begins at 6:30 pm with hot laps.

To enhance the fans racing experience the speedway has installed a short wave FM transmitter and all of the evening’s action can be heard at 95.5 FM. So bring your portable radio headset and enjoy hearing all the action.

Don’t forget to “Like” us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/vamotorspeedway and follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/vamotorspeedway for the latest news and results.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway, an ASA Member Track, is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

To learn more about Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway fans may call the Speedway office at (804) 758-1VMS or visit the track’s web site at www.vamotorspeedway.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223

USA 100, SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 14 – 15, 2012:

1. Steve Shaver (Vienna, WV), 2. Jared Landers (Batesville, AR), 3. Chris Madden (Gaffney, SC), 4. Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA), 5. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL), 6. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN), 7. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN), 8. Kenny Moreland (Waldorf, MD), 9. Dean Bowen (Whiteville, NC), 10. Ricky Elliott (Seaford, DE), 11. Eric Wells (Hazard, KY), 12. Walker Arthur (Forest, VA), 13. Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA),

1. Steve Francis (Ashland, KY), 2. Jamie Lathroum (Mechanicsville, MD), 3. Jonathan Davenport (Blairsville, NC), 4. John Blankenship (Knoxville, TN), 5. Don ONeal (Martinsville, IN), 6. Austin Hubbard (Laurel, DE), 7. Jerry Bard (Shippingsburg, PA), 8. Jeremy Miller (Gettysburg, PA), 9. David Williams (Avenue, MD), 10. Matt Quade (Mechanicsville, MD), 11. David Watts (Buchanan, VA), 12. Dan Stone (Thompson, PA),

Red Buck Fast Time Group A: Jimmy Owens / 17.456 seconds
Red Buck Fast Time Group B: David Williams / 17.673 seconds

1. Russell Erwin (Beaverdam, VA), 2. Brian Dobie (Partlow, VA), 3. Charlie Hubbard (Chesapeake, VA), 4. Chris Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 5. Josh Harris (Gloucester, VA), 6. Stephen Bryant (Swoope, VA), 7. Brian Maxey (King George, VA), 8. Chris Parker (Lumberbridge, NC), 9. Mike Reynolds (Clements, MD), 10. Curtis Barricks (Chesterfield, VA),
1. Jimmy Duncan (Fredericksburg, VA), 2. Tony Quade (Leonardtown, MD), 3. Page Harrison (Jetersville, VA), 4. Bret Hamilton (Powhatan, VA), 5. Robert Lipford Jr. (Mosely, VA), 6. James Sparks (Hollywood, MD), 7. Rich Marks IV (Bryans Road, MD), 8. Neal Hudgins (Grimstead, VA), 9. Skippy Johnson (Aylett, VA), 10. Gary Long (Newport News, VA),

1. Joe Cox (Beckley, WV), 2. Brandon Galloway (Gloucester, VA), 3. Dan Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 4. Francis Jarrelle III (Chesterfield, VA), 5. Ryan Toole (Richmond, VA), 6. Donnie Smith (Fredericksburg, VA), 7. Jeff Solinger (Bumpass, VA), 8. Shon Flanary (Church Hill, TN), 9. Greg Brown (Concord, NC), 10. Aaron Harris (Richmond, VA),

1. Russell Erwin (Beaverdam, VA), 2. Brian Dobie (Partlow, VA), 3. Bret Hamilton (Powhatan, VA), 4. Jimmy Duncan (Fredericksburg, VA), 5. Brandon Galloway (Gloucester, VA), 6. Tony Quade (Leonardtown, MD), 7. Dan Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 8. Joe Cox (Beckley, WV), 9. Page Harrison (Jetersville, VA), 10. Greg Brown (Concord, NC), 11. Chris Parker (Lumberbridge, NC), 12. Rich Marks IV (Bryans Road, MD), 13. Neal Hudgins (Grimstead, VA), 14. Stephen Bryant (Swoope, VA), 15. Skippy Johnson (Aylett, VA), 16. Ryan Toole (Richmond, VA), 17. Curtis Barricks (Chesterfield, VA), 18. Brian Maxey (King George, VA), 19. Donnie Smith (Fredericksburg, VA), 20. Francis Jarrelle III (Chesterfield, VA), 21. Charlie Hubbard (Chesapeake, VA), 22. Jeff Solinger (Bumpass, VA), 23. Josh Harris (Gloucester, VA), 24. James Sparks (Hollywood, MD), 25. Robert Lipford Jr. (Mosely, VA), 26. Chris Arnold (Petersburg, VA), DNS: Mike Reynolds (Clements, MD), Shon Flanary (Church Hill, TN), Gary Long (Newport News, VA), Aaron Harris (Richmond, VA),

FAST TIME: Russell Erwin – 20.073 seconds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>