JAMAICA, VA (April 13, 2012) – Defending Commonwealth 100 winner Steve Shaver of Vienna, WV and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion, Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN will make up the front row for the Third Annual Commonwealth 100 on Saturday Night at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway.

Shaver and Owens won their respective first and third heats on Friday Night to earn their starting spots for the $25,000 to win race. Other heat race winners include Rick Eckert of York, PA and Jared Landers of Batesville, AR.

Casey Roberts of Toccoa, GA set fast time among the 40 entrants in Red Buck Cigars Time Trials with a lap of 17.058 seconds around the half-mile oval. The top four finishers out of four-15 lap heat races advanced from Friday Night’s action to the Commonwealth 100.

On Saturday, activities will get underway when the pit gates open at 3 pm. There will be a celebrity slot-car race underneath the main grandstand area starting at 3:15pm. Dirt Racing Outreach will hold a service beginning at 3:30PM. General admission gates will open up at 4 pm with a driver’s autograph session slated for 4:30 PM. The drivers’ meeting is scheduled for 5:30pm.

Action on the track will kick off at 6:30pm with the first of two B-mains that will determine the rest of the starting grid for the feature. After that, will be the $3,000 to win Non-Qualifiers race and rounding out the night will be the Third Annual Commonwealth 100.

The event is being taped by Lucas Oil Production Studios and will be shown on MAV-TV, SPEED, and NBC Sports Network.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series visit www.lucasdirt.com.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com or call the series’ office at (951) 532-2503.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Friday Night, April 13, 2012
Commonwealth 100
Virginia Motor Speedway – Jamaica, VA

Red Buck Cigars Fast Time:
Casey Roberts / 17.058 seconds (Group A and Overall)
Jimmy Owens / 17.071 seconds (Group B)

Wiles Driveshafts First Heat (15 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Steve Shaver, Dennis Erb, Jr., Casey Roberts, David Williams, Austin Hubbard, Tim McCreadie, Earl Pearson, Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Walker Arthur, Brandon Overton

U. S. Steel Second Heat (15 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Rick Eckert, Stevie Long, Shane Clanton, Don O’Neal, Jared Hawkins, Steve Francis, Jason Covert, Dean Bowen, David Zona, Eric Wells

Simpson Performance Products Third Heat (15 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jimmy Owens, Brian Birkhofer, Ricky Elliott , Tyler Reddick, Scott Bloomquist, John Lobb, Dennis Franklin, Kyle Lear, Chris Madden, Mike Marlar

HAWK Brakes Fourth Heat (15 Laps- Top 4 Advance): Jared Landers, Daniel Stone, Kenny Moreland, John Blankenship, Jamie Lathroum, Darryl Hills, Ronnie DeHaven, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Andrew Mullins, Tim Shelton

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>