Jamaica, VA – On Mom’s Night at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway defending Victory Lap Late Model champion Scott Adams of Chester, VA made sure he gave mom an early Mother’s Day present. Adams made a bold move on Tom Cohick of Gloucester, VA in turn 2 to take over the lead.

Adams would be followed by week one winner Derick Quade and Davis Lipscombe as the trio began to pull away from the battle for fourth. Both Quade’s and Lipscombe’s night would come to an early end with mechanical failures.

With Adams in complete control the action behind him was fierce as Matt Morgan, Matt Marshall, Tim Shelton and David Williams all swapped position over the final 20 laps. Nothing was going to keep Adams from victory lane, not even a broken left rear shock mount that broke with 15 laps to go. With the left rear just about dragging the track Adams powered his way to his first win of 2011.

“I have to thank my dad and Bubba Hubbard for giving me such a great car, I’m just the guy that gets to drive it. This one is for my mom,” commented Adams in victory lane.

Following Adams to the checkers were Matt Marshall, eleventh starting David Williams, Matt Morgan and rookie Kenny Moreland.

In other action Brain Maxey of King George, VA took home his second win in a row as he made a bold three wide move on lap 8 to take over the lead. Leader Dan Arnold was working lapped traffic with page Harrison and Maxey in tow. As they raced out of turn 2 Arnold got stuck behind a lapped car while Harrison and Maxey worked to his inside. Maxey would take the lead and onec out front began to pull away from the field.

With the laps winding down Arnold reeled in Maxey but could never get close enough to mount a serious challenge as Maxey would go on to take the win followed by Arnold, Bret Hamilton, Page Harrison and Brandon Galloway.

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature the race for the lead was a five man battle until the very end. Roger Jamerson of Mechanicsville, VA would take the lead on the first circuit but would have to hold off several strong challenges by Taylor Doggett, Todd Traylor and Tony Wood. Jamerson would prevail as Wood and Doggett raced side by side for the final lap in a battle for second that Doggett won at the line. The rest of the top five went to Todd Traylor and J.R. Guy.

In the Collision One Limited Stock 20 lap feature Wesley Givens of Highland Springs, VA took over the lead on lap 8 in a tight battle between six cars at the front of the field. In the end Givens was strong enough to get the victory over Ryan Toole who made a last lap dash from third for the lead to finish just .361 seconds in second. Ricky Douglas, Brett Adkins and James Givens rounded out the top five.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway returns to action Saturday May 14th and will host NAPA of Saluda Night featuring four divisions of Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series action. See the Victory Lap Late Model, Truckin Thunder Sportsman, Budweiser Modifies and the Collision One Limited Stock divisions. Come experience the raw, pure excitement that is dirt racing!

Competitor gates for Saturday, May 14th will open at 4pm with spectator gates opening at 5pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps. Divisions scheduled to race on Saturday: Victory Lap Late Models (35 Laps); Budweiser Modifieds (25 Laps); Truckin Thunder Sportsman (25 laps) and the Collision One Limited Stock Cars (20 laps). All divisions will run Hot Lap Time Trials and Features.

To enhance the fans racing experience the speedway has installed a short wave FM transmitter and all of the evening’s action can be heard at 95.5 FM. So bring your portable radio headset and enjoy hearing all the action.

Don’t forget to become a Fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/vamotorspeedway and follow us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/vamotorspeedway.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway, an ASA Member Track, is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

To learn more about Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway fans may call the Speedway office at (804) 758-1VMS or visit the track’s web site at www.vamotorspeedway.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223


A Main:1. Scott Adams (Chester, VA), 2. Matt Marshall (Stuarts Draft, VA), 3. David Williams (Avenue, MD), 4. Matt Morgan (Hughesville, MD), 5. Kenny Moreland (Waldorf, MD), 6. Tim Shelton (Fredericksburg, VA), 7. John Staton (Norfolk, VA), 8. Brandon Long (Mechanicsville, MD), 9. Andy Gregg (Portsmouth, VA), 10. Alan Anderson (Norfolk, VA), 11. Davis Lipscombe (Mechanicsville, VA), 12. Tom Cohick (Gloucester, VA), 13. Derick Quade (Mechanicsville, MD), 14. David Puckett (King George, VA), 15. Brad Rigdon (Chesapeake, VA), DNS: Stevie Long (Mechanicsville, MD),

FAST TIME: Scott Adams – 19.180 seconds, 93.848mph

A Main:1. Roger Jamerson (Glen Allen, VA), 2. Taylor Doggett (Ruther Glen, VA), 3. Tony Wood (New Kent, VA), 4. Todd Traylor (King William, VA), 5. J.R. Guy (Mechanicsville, MD), 6. Roy Skaggs (Highland Springs, VA), 7. Davey Pullen (New Kent, VA), 8. Bubba Holloway (Qiunton, VA), 9. Carl Vaughan (Chesapeake, VA), 10. Junior Carter (Mechanicsville, VA), 11. Tommy Upshaw (West Point, VA), 12. Stephen Childress (St. Stephens Church, VA), 13. Wayne Carroll (Fredericksburg, VA), 14. Michael Hayes (Ruther Glen, VA), 15. Michael Roop (Stafford, VA),

FAST TIME: Todd Traylor – 21.484 seconds, 83.783mph

A Main:1. Brian Maxey (King George, VA), 2. Dan Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 3. Bret Hamilton (Powhatan, VA), 4. Page Harrison (Jetersville, VA), 5. Brandon Galloway (Gloucester, VA), 6. John Ferguson (Gloucester, VA), 7. Joey Polevoy (Powhatan, VA), 8. Curtis Barricks (Chesterfield, VA), 9. Charlie Hubbard (Chesapeake, VA), 10. Kelly Samuels (Chester, VA), 11. David Kendall (Petersburg, VA), 12. Dave Savage (Mattaponi, VA), 13. Aaron Harris (Richmond, VA), 14. Francis Jarrelle III (Powhatan, VA), 15. Josh Harris (Gloucester, VA), 16. Chris Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 17. James Jessee (Spotsylvania, VA), 18. David Parker (Midlothian, VA), 19. Jimmy Duncan (Fredericksburg, VA), 20. Jacob Buie (Rockville, VA), DNS: Brian Dobie (Partlow, VA),

FAST TIME: Brian Maxey – 21.172 seconds, 85.018mph

A Main:1. Wesley Givens (Highland Springs, VA), 2. Ryan Toole (Richmond, VA), 3. Ricky Douglas (Unionville, VA), 4. Brett Adkins (Gloucester, VA), 5. James Givens (Highland Springs, VA), 6. Brandon Coates (Tappahannock, VA), 7. David Bowler (Gloucester, VA), 8. Thomas Rose (Gloucester, VA), 9. Marty Coltrain (Richmond, VA), 10. Raymond Harper (Gloucester, VA), 11. Brandon Sandridge (New Kent, VA), 12. Joe Ender (Glen Allen, VA), 13. Ryan Hutchens (Toano, VA), 14. Benjamin Lowry (Mechanicsville, VA), 15. Bryan Barkley (Hayes, VA), DQ: Chad Champion (Beaverdam, VA)

FAST TIME: Ryan Toole – 23.654 seconds, 76.097mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>