Jamaica, VA – The tentative 2011 schedule for Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway has been released and includes 12 weeks of Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series action and will open with the World of Outlaws sanctioned $25,000 to win Commonwealth 100 April 15 – 16, 2010 and end with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned $15,000 to win 32nd Annual USA 100. To see the entire 2011 schedule in its entirety click on schedule under the Events tab.

After a very successful inaugural event, officials at Virginia Motor Speedway have announced that the World of Outlaws Late Model Series sanctioned ‘Commonwealth 100’ will be contested on April 15-16, 2011.

A $25,000 prize is once again earmarked for the winner of the two-day blockbuster, which will offer a cash purse totaling over $125,000. The Commonwealth 100 will pay $2,000 to start, and a 30-lap Non-Qualifiers’ Race will boast a $3,000 first-place award from a purse of nearly $16,000.

Time trials and heat races will be run on Fri., April 15, with last-chance races and the headline Commonwealth 100 dominating the program on Sat., April 16. A rain date of Sun., April 17, has been established for the event.

Advance ticket orders and driver registrations are currently being taken and can save fans and competitors greatly. For details visit the speedways website at www.vamotorspeedway.com.

Returning will also be the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for the 32nd Annual USA 100 on Saturday, September 17th. This year’s event will once again pay the winner $15,000. The event will have a September 18th rain date. The event will also include a modified special with VMS rules.

Also returning for 2011 will be the Steel Block Bandits but this year the event will be a $3000 to win event scheduled for Saturday, July 9th. The Steel Block Bandits Limited Late Model Series holds events throughout the Mid-Atlantic region. The series will return with VMS alumnus and 2008 Victory Lap Late Model Champion Walker Arthur of Forest, VA as their 2010 Champion. The tracks Victory Lap Late Model competitors will once again offer up some stiff competition when the third year series makes its visit back to the high banks of Virginia Motor Speedway. Last year VMS rookie Matt Marshall of Stuarts Draft, VA picked up the biggest race win of his early career and the $2000 check. For more info on the Steel Block Bandits visit www.steelblockbandits.com.

The track’s always competitive weekly divisions begin their race for the division Championships and the Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series Championship on Saturday April 23rd. This year’s division line-up will once again include the Victory Lap Late Models, Truckin Thunder Sportsman and the Collision One Limited Stock Cars.

The Speedway will hold an open practice for all divisions on Saturday, April 2nd from 9am till 5pm. Saturday, April 9th will be used as a rain date for the open practice. All cars must be inspected before they will be allowed to practice. Competitors are encouraged to register before the open practice.

Registrations are currently being accepted with the top twenty in each class having their number saved until February 15th when all numbers will become first come first served. Competitors can obtain a 2011 registration form by going to the tracks website or by calling the speedway Monday through Friday 10am through 3pm at (804) 758-1867.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway, an ASA Member Track, is a 1/2-mile, dirt oval. The track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

To learn more about Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway and its 2011 schedule of events, fans may call the Speedway office at (804) 758-1VMS or visit the track’s web site at www.vamotorspeedway.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>