Jamaica, VA – With a new baby in his household there was added incentive to bring home a Victory Lap Late Model victory for Stevie Long of Mechanicsville, MD. With a very strong tenth place starting ride Long worked his way to the lead by lap 7 as he out dueled rookie Matt Marshall to the line to take the top spot.

Once out front Long was on cruise control in his #44 Advance Metal Concepts. Dean Guy Masonry, Quality Auto Body, Clarke’s Landing, Triple K Fence sponsored Rocket, leading by as much as a full straightaway. With three to go the races fifth and final caution closed the field on longs bumper. On the final restart Marshall took a peak to his inside in turn 1 but that was all he would get as he worked to fend off Davis Lipscombe for second with Long motoring on to the victory.

“I’ve just never qualified here, but once the green flag flew I knew we had a hot rod. The car would go anywhere I wanted it to go. I have to thank my wife she is at home with our two sons and I’m out here racing,” commented a very elated Long in victory lane.

Rounding out the top five were Matt Marshall, Davis Lipscombe. Scott Adams and Tyler Bailey. Adams may have been the show as he went to the rear of the field after being involved in an opening lap caution. he then methodically worked his way back to a fourth place finish.

In the Budweiser Modified 25 lap feature Brian Maxey of King George, VA inherited the lead on lap 7 when then leader John Ferguson of Gloucester, VA spun in turn 4 to being out the races second caution of the night. Maxey would battle with defending Champion Dan Arnold of Petersburg, VA the remainder of the 18 laps to pick up the win. Rounding out the top five were Dan Arnold, James Marshall, Page Harrison and Brandon Cohick

In the Truckin Thunder Sportsman 25 lap feature Todd Traylor of King William, VA took home the hardware in a hard fought battle with Tony Wood of New Kent, VA. Traylor led the first 21 laps before spinning in turn 2 handing the lead over to Wood. Two laps later Traylor was inside Wood in turn 2 for the lead, this time for good. Traylor spent most of the event watching the battle for second between Wood and defending Champion Roger Jamerson before making the mistake on lap 21 that almost cost him the victory. Following Traylor to the line were Michael Roop, Tony Wood, Shawn Otey and Tommy Upshaw.

In the Collision One Limited Stock Car 20 lap feature Joe Ender of Glen Allen, VA and Ryan Toole of Richmond, VA put on a show for the fans in attendance as they battled for the victory. With lots of three wide racing all over the track all eyes were on the top two wrestled over the top spot. On lap 14 Enders made a small slip in turn 2 and that’s all Toole needed as he took over the top spot and drove on for the victory. rounding out the top five were Joe Ender, Wesley Givens, James Givens and Kevin Fletcher.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway will host the return of “The Greatest Show on Dirt” the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Saturday May 15th for the NAPA of King William and Tappahannock Paul Sawyer Memorial. Don’t miss the only appearance of the Outlaws in the State of Virginia. See Tony Stewart Racing’s Steve Kinser and Donnie Schatz battle Kasey Kahne Racing’s Joey Saldana along with current point leader Jason Meyers, Danny Lasoski, Jac Haudenschild and the rest of the Outlaws.

Also see the Victory Lap Late Models in Virginia Army National Guard Dirt Series action. It’s a night of racing you will not want to miss!

Competitor gates for Saturday, May 15th will open at 3pm with spectator gates opening at 4pm. On track activities will begin at 6:30pm with hot laps. Divisions scheduled to race on Saturday may 15th: World of Outlaws Sprint Cars (outlaws Format and 30 lap feature); and Victory Lap Late Models (35 Laps). World of Outlaws Sprint Car format will consist of time trials, heats, B Main(s) and a 30 lap “A” Main. Track division will run hot lap time trials and feature.

Adult admission is just $30, Senior (60+) and Military $25, Students 7 –17 yrs old $12 and Children 6 and under free. Pit passes will be $35.

To enhance the fans racing experience the speedway has installed a short wave FM transmitter and all of the evening’s action can be heard at 95.5 FM. So bring your portable radio headset and enjoy hearing all the action.

Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway, an ASA Member Track, is a ½ mile dirt oval track is located on U.S. Route 17, eight miles north of Saluda, VA and 25 miles south of Tappahannock, VA in Jamaica, VA. The speedway is just a short drive from Richmond, Fredericksburg, Southern Maryland and the Hampton Roads area.

To learn more about Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway fans may call the Speedway office at (804) 758-1VMS or visit the track’s web site at www.vamotorspeedway.com.

MEDIA CONTACT: DAVE SEAY (804) 758-1867 OR (804) 357-7223



A Main:1. Stevie Long (Mechanicsville, MD), 2. Matt Marshall (Stuarts Draft, VA), 3. Davis Lipscombe (Mechanicsville, VA), 4. Scott Adams (Chester, VA), 5. Tyler Bailey (Chesterfield, VA), 6. Tim Shelton (Fredericksburg, VA), 7. Chris Stacy (Spotsylvania, VA), 8. Ben Bowie (Brandywine, MD), 9. Anthony Kincaid (Hayes, VA), 10. Andy Gregg (Portsmouth, VA), 11. Tom Cohick (Gloucester, VA), 12. Lou Littlepage Jr. (Mechanicsville, VA), 13. Rick Adkins (Gloucester, VA), 14. Vaughan Haywood (Deltaville, VA), 15. Brandon Long (Mechanicsville, MD), 16. Junior Carter (Mechanicsville, VA), DNS: David Steele (Newport News, VA), Louie Littlepage (Mechanicsville, VA), Alan Anderson (Norfolk, VA), DQ: Matt Morgan (Hughesville, MD),

FAST TIME: Matt Morgan – 18.627 seconds; 96.634mph


A Main:1. Todd Traylor (King William, VA), 2. Michael Roop (Stafford, VA), 3. Tony Wood (New Kent, VA), 4. Shawn Otey (Aylett, VA), 5. Tommy Upshaw (West Point, VA), 6. Alfred Holloway (Qiunton, VA), 7. Rusty Steele (Providence Forge, VA), 8. J.R. Guy (Mechanicsville, MD), 9. Stephen Childress (St. Stephens Church, VA), 10. John Kirby (Sandston, VA), 11. Roger Jamerson (Glen Allen, VA), 12. Michael Hayes (Ruther Glen, VA), DNS: Davey Pullen (New Kent, VA)

FAST TIME: 22.189 seconds; 81.121mph


A Main:1. Brian Maxey (King George, VA), 2. Dan Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 3. James Marshall (Saint Leonard, MD), 4. Page Harrison (Jetersville, VA), 5. Brandon Cohick (Gloucester, VA), 6. Tony Quade (Leonardtown, MD), 7. Noel Austin (Petersburg, VA), 8. Kelly Samuels (Chester, VA), 9. Dave Savage (Mattaponi, VA), 10. Brandon Galloway (Gloucester, VA), 11. Chris Arnold (Petersburg, VA), 12. Charlie Hubbard (Chesapeake, VA), 13. Neal Hudgins (Grimstead, VA), 14. Josh Harris (Gloucester, VA), 15. John Ferguson (Gloucester, VA), 16. David Kendall (Petersburg, VA), 17. Kevin Beahr (Mechanicsville, VA), 18. Kevin Fletcher (Saluda, VA), 19. Dustin Bishop (Stony Creek, VA), 20. Wayne Taylor (Tappahannock, VA), 21. Brian Dobie (Partlow, VA)

FAST TIME: Dan Arnold – 20.073 seconds; 89.673mph


A Main:1. Ryan Toole (Richmond, VA), 2. Joe Ender (Glen Allen, VA), 3. Wesley Givens (Highland Springs, VA), 4. James Givens (Highland Springs, VA), 5. Kevin Fletcher (Saluda, VA), 6. Brandon Sandridge (Mechanicsville, VA), 7. Marty Coltrain (Richmond, VA), 8. Bryan Barkley (Hayes, VA), 9. Brandon Coates (Tappahannock, VA), 10. John Hankins Sr. (Jamaica, VA), 11. Mike Butler (Richmond, VA), 12. Lee Overstreet (Manakin Sabot, VA), 13. Stephen Democko (Gloucester, VA), 14. Daniel Loth (Richmond, VA), 15. Brett Adkins (Gloucester, VA), 16. Ray Payne (Woodford, VA), 17. Danny Martin (Richmond, VA), 18. Wilbur Hutchens (Toano, VA), DNS: Jim Ridings (Gloucester, VA), Chad Champion (Beaverdam, VA),

FAST TIME: Wesley Givens – 23.797 seconds; 75.640mph

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>